You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Has Your Entrepreneurial Journey Been? I'd Love to Hear Your Story

in #business6 years ago (edited)

I am an entrepreneur, a farmer precisely I engage in fish farming. As an entrepreneur you need to understand that you want to engage yourself with, what you are passionate of doing and don't just rush into business because a friend or relative is performing well in it, your ideology and your inner self might not go with it. Don't go into business because you have the money to do it, don't go into a business because you think you can do it. I started my fish farm with a very little capital and as little as it is, I was able to get something meaningful out. But there is a challenge when it is time to harvest and sell, the big fish farmers will not allow the small scale to enjoy the market. So I decided not to sell and proceeded to processing it. The creative idea makes me get more profit than if I had sold it initially. That's CREATIVITY, an entrepreneur must be CREATIVE. The profit gave me the opportunity to reinvest. My next stock was higher than the first but I did not make profit like the first, that's business. I never relent, I had to stock again take another risk and it doesn't seems working again but I never relent I had to keep investing in what I have passion for. That's RISK, an entrepreneur must be able to take high risks until you hit your target. I never relent until I achieved my aims. So, set goals and the map out how you inintend achieving it. Don't relent until you achieve it.

Being self reliant is the best.

Do what you love and love what you do.
Thanks

Sort:  

Thank you for the great tips and the sage advice. I’m so glad to hear that you have been creative with your fish farming business and have been able to turn a good profit, even with the bigger farms trying to push you down. I think you are correct that creativity and risk-taking are a big part of the entrepreneurial life. Thanks for sharing your story - including the ups and the downs!

It is not too easy at the start but you must be adamant to continue, then you will conquer all obstacles. Thanks