You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Has Your Entrepreneurial Journey Been? I'd Love to Hear Your Story

in #business6 years ago

I'd love to share with you my story of entrepreneurship!

A ran a a small Lavender + herb farm and made all natural personal care and home products which I sold in a gift shop. It was a mostly seasonal business during the spring and summer months. I also stocked a handful of other gift shops with my products throughout the year.

It was hard work! I was running all aspects of the business by myself. I had put a lot of time, energy and money into it, and it did quite well for its first 2 years.

One big problem though, I totally fell out of love with it. I was miserable. Anxious, stressed and way too much on my plate. I just wasn't enjoying it anymore. I loved the freedom of being an entrepreneur, and knew I'd never go back to a "job", but it was a very confusing time for me, trying to figure out what was wrong with me and what made me fall out of love with doing it.

Long story short, I took some time off to get real with myself, down the path of personal development and spiritual growth, hoping I could "fix me", but, I discovered, I was never going to fall back in love.

I walked away from that business. During the time I spent working on myself, I became self-aware and really wanted to match myself up with a business that I was going to be a better fit. Although, it's been a slow start, I can now say I'm doing what I love, working in the space of personal development, spiritual growth and entrepreneurship.

I learned a big (painful +expensive) lesson of how important it is to "do what you love and love what you do".

It's exciting to hear you are seeking out the path of entrepreneurship. I've watched a few of your videos and I can already tell you're cut out for it! I look forward to hearing what type of business you'll decide on.
Best of Luck to you!

Sort:  

Napoleon Hill the author of "Think and Grow Rich" left several companies he started for the same reasons. It is possible that we may never have had his wonderful books had he stayed with them. If you have a desire to work for yourself the solution will come to you. All the best!

Oh my gosh... I LOVED hearing your story! It was super interesting to hear about the evolution of your first business, and how you loved it at first but it changed over time.

I’m so glad to hear that you’ve found your passion with your current line of work. Do you work as a coach?

Thanks again for sharing your story! I really enjoyed hearing all about your journey! ❤️

It's exactly that, a journey! lol. But one I would never trade. So much learning, direction and inspiration came from it and continues to.

I just began working as coach (mindset/entrepreneurship) and a Desire Map Facilitator (teaches, a feeling-based approach to life). My goal is to help people not make the same mistake I did, and choose a better fitting business that lights up their soul.

I'm following you and looking forward to watching you do big things!