You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Normalization of downvotes | Read this post, then downvote it

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

But what about if someone has a photo and a quick blurb? Example, I posted a pic of a Black Widow and posted a quick story about the encounter. It was something I thought was interesting and felt was a cool pic. Nothing that I could flesh out into a novel but enough for the reader to get the general idea of the situation. I used APPICS for this. It’s at 3 bucks and change. Is this something that the community would look at and think is unnecessary dogshit? I think an app like this has a place here for these types of scenarios. I don’t expect them to earn boatloads unless brilliant, but I think when we start becoming too snobbish we can scare some regular common folks away.

Example. My son. @drdoggo420 just put up a small post that most here would deem worthless and crappy. He’s a teenager, struggles with writing and expressing himself, and im trying like hell to get him involved. Im thrilled at the fact that he’s trying and even though his reads are full of amazing brilliance, I feel they have a place here.

I’m liking the changes here with #newsteem but I feel a slight elitist mentality from lots of folks that I think could scare regular joes away.

By the way, I’m for the downvotes. I think I’m just a bit sensitive to this wave of “we need only quality content” which I’ve been seeing a lot of lately. Not that that has anything to do with this post really. Lol