Keto: Easy Bulletproof Coffee

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Here is my quick recipe on making bulletproof coffee. Since starting keto about a year ago, I have made bulletproof coffee nearly everyday. It is an easy way to add a few fat calories and enjoy your morning caffeine boost. In case you have not heard of keto diet, it is eating as few carbohydrate calories as possible and replacing those with fat (and protein) calories.

My routine is quick and I thought I would share it with my fellow Steemians looking to start their day right on the ketogenic diet.

Ingredients and Equipment:
IMG-2005.JPG
Coconut oil, heavy cream, coffee (I use Keurig K-Cups), coffee mug, spoon, submerged blender (not shown in this pic).

Put 1 tablespoon of coconut oil into your coffee mug. Since making this recipe over and over, I just eyeball it to my spoon size. It might look different in your spoon.
IMG-2006.JPG
IMG-2007.JPG

Next step is to make your coffee and pour it into your mug on top of the coconut oil. I use a Keurig, so I make a large cup. If you use anothwe fashion to make coffee (drip or fenrch press, etc) just pour it right on top and leave about 1-2 inches of headroom on top.

IMG-2009.JPG

Next step is to add 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream. Heavy cream is great for flavor and adds plenty of fat calories. You can add less if you it is too creamy for you. I add about two tablespoons, which is about two spoonfulls of these.
IMG-2012.JPG

Once you stir this together, you will notice a sheen of oil as the coconut oil doesn't readily mix with the coffee solution.

IMG-2014.JPG

To solve this, you can stir with the spoon for 15-20 minutes, but I've found the submerged blender works the best. These are $15-20 on Amazon and I use it everyday for the bulletproof coffee. You can also use it to make homemade soups.
IMG-2015.JPG

IMG-2016.JPG

I didn't take a picture of mixing in action because you need to use both hands. One to hold the submerged blender and push the button, and one to hold your coffee mug. Hold the mug steady otherwise the blender will knock it over.

IMG-2017.JPG

The result is a slightly frothy mixture of coffee, oil, and heavy cream. I know its simple, but I thought I would share since I mastered my recipe! I also drink down to about 3/4 and add more black coffee to this and it still tastes great.

I know some folks like a little sweetness in their coffee, but keto means no sugar! If you need to sweeten your drink, add a few drops (1-4) of stevia or vanilla extract. I've found its too sweet for me so I don't add any. I would add before using the submerged blender.

Cheers! Chipper