You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Normalization of downvotes | Read this post, then downvote it

in #busy5 years ago

Hi @anomadsoul,

Regardless, of our earlier conversation, downvotes are the least of the problems I am dealing with right now. Yes, some people get them on small blogs. Yes they feel terrorized because they have never encountered this before. Yes, I explain what it's all about many time a week. Tiny accounts who get the 10% downvote by an account with 15 sp think they have done something wrong and want help all the time. STEEM is highly complicated when you are new here. When you only get 10 votes for 10 cents and then get a downvote, you do not understand what it means or what to do. ("Nothing," I tell them. "Don't worry. Keep posting your good content and read my billion minnow tips again.")

But downvotes are not the main issue for the little blogs post-fork. I wrote this post today - not exactly what I planned, but I hope you will take a look and see if you get my position now.

https://steempeak.com/esteem/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-698-a-bunch-of-excuses

And if you could look at this post that has been curated by several programs:

https://steempeak.com/homestead/@johndoer123/homestead-update-2-spring-is-tapped-teepee-built

I think it is a great post from a worthy STEEMer. I have been following him for months. He gets great engagement. He gets all this good attention and a 70 cent payout. I know he is not complaining and likes posting here. But my small vote is meaningless and the programs supporting him are weak too.

So where do we go from here? There are several large initiatives trying to "onboard the masses" right now. The fork seems to have gone well if you are over 5000 sp and do not look down at the bottom of the pool. Assuming we get "the masses" averaging 50 and less sp, who is going to support them if we can not support this guy now?

Feel free to ignore. I'm only here because you are about the only person of any clout that has even talked to me about this.

Sort:  

its a circle jerk and your politeness makes you an angel. You need to come to telos and just leave steem to bottom out and for all bid bot owners to power down and leave them with their crab bucket :D