Know Sunti Acid & Its Making Process

in #busy6 years ago

Know Sunti Acid & Its Making Process

Star fruit wuluh aka starfruit vegetable (Averrhoa bilimbi) in front of Pete's house is bearing fruit bushes, even to the scattered on the ground surface. Some small plants appear to grow from the rotten old starfruit. This tree is almost four years old, and I get a free from the seller of ornamental plants that I once planted his cultivation when the gardening fever was hit soul some time ago. Now the tree that had been lean, towering and branched a lot, though in my opinion still lean when compared with the tree belimbing next door neighbor is sturdy. The fruit that seemed to not know the season and always present hanging along the trunk, often I use to make fish soup, ferocious asem, vegetables asem, pepes fish and even tom yam. I do not know how many recipes I produce using this super-sour fruit
image.png

So long the excessive fruit star fruit is not so I care about, until I see the appearance of cuisine called keueng acid from Aceh. This juicy dish tastes sour and spicy, and is a favorite of my favorite dishes. Moreover, the main ingredients used are fish or shrimp. Hmm, have not tried it my saliva has dripped first. Although the appearance and taste a bit similar to spicy a la Padang fish or Spices a la Bangka but still there is a distinguish. Keueng acid uses sunti acid and koja salam leaves as a sour flavor and fragrances. For koja leaves or curry leaves, I've posted about this spice, please click the link here. I myself did not find it difficult to provide it, because by chance my neighbor has a curry tree with a super-dense leaves. But for sunti acid, it looks like I have to make it first.

20170716_102923.jpg

![20170716_102925.jpg]
(https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmRyTgrBhDEncp491zkSBobMojqCCtakoNgdk8XteTEdhs)
A few weeks ago, with a bowl in my hand was guerrilla among the leaves of starfruit leaf and harvest all the fruit there. A large bowl of fresh starfruit in dry conditions will produce only a small bowl of sunti acid. The fruit then I put into boiling water that I have put salt into it and boiled briefly just to change the color just to brown. This boiled star fruit then I set on a plastic pan and I dry it for five days in the heat of super hot while occasionally I sprinkle with salt until it becomes dry blackish. The look is not as cool as sunti acid that many displayed on the internet, but I am sure for the benefits and the taste will be the same. This sunti acid then I put into plastic and store in the refrigerator. And yesterday, I made back the second round sunti acid that is currently still in the drying place and hopefully the rain does not go down when I'm in the office. This time I use fresh starfruit without going through the boiling process. Hmm, curious too me with the end result.

20170716_103408.jpg

My knowledge is actually very limited for sunti acid because it rarely uses it in cooking. Some of the info I write here I take from various sources that I read and personal experiences are just a bit. So if colleagues have experience associated with per-suntian acid then sharing it here will be invaluable. Well sunti own acid is actually one of the spices of cuisine made from star fruit wuluh dried to dry and become a special seasoning of Aceh. Generally the people of Aceh use it to cook keumamah, keueng, curry and sambal. Keumamah itself is a dish made from dried fish slices (commonly called a wooden fish) in the spice seasoning and gravy curry is thick and spicy.

Usefulness of sunti acid in cooking in addition to providing a natural sour taste effects are also able to eliminate fishy odor in fish or seafood dishes. It is said that the taste is more unique and different from the Javanese acid. This spice also makes the sauce becomes more viscous and gives more attractive color to the cuisine. For use usually sunti acid washed first to reduce the salt. Acid then let the whole or cut into small pieces and then put into the dish. If used for the manufacture of sauce, the acid is hard and clay is soaked in water until softened to then mashed into a mixture of sambal. For the people of Aceh, it seems sunti acid can not be released in everyday life, as evidenced by the many varieties of culinary that uses this spice in it. For me, natural acids like this are much better than bottled vinegar, which although very practical to use but does not contribute nutritional value to our body.

Given the very easy process and ability that can provide delicious taste in the cuisine, it is unfortunate if the starfruit-starfruit lot scattered in the yard is not utilized optimally. So what are you waiting for? Here's the process of making it yes.

image.png

Make Sunti Acid
Recipe modified by yourself

Interested in information about other cooking spices? Click on the link below:
A Glimpse About The Benefits of Kari Leaf / Leaf Salam Koja / Daun Temuru
A myriad of Benefits of Flower Kecombrang / Honje / Kantan / Siantan
Kluwek: About, Tips on Choosing & Using It

Material:

  • 50 fruit wuluh starfruit
  • 1 liter of water to boil
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • salt to taste for sprinkling

How to make
Prepare belimbing wuluh, wash clean. Put the starfruit into the pan, pour water and salt. Boil briefly until the starfruit turns into beige cream. Drain.
image.png

Starfruit on a baking sheet, use a plastic pan or warehouse made of bamboo. Sprinkle the starfruit surface with salt to taste, do not get too excessive. Dry in the sun for one day until the star fruit looks wrinkled, turn and sprinkle the surface of starfruit with salt until the entire surface of starfruit covered with salt.

Dry the starfruit until dry, while flipped back and forth to dry evenly. It takes me about 5 days in the scorching heat to make the perfect starfruit dry.
Insert sunti acid in plastic or container tightly and keep it in the refrigerator. Sunti acid is ready for use in cooking.
well that's the explanation about sunti acid typical of Aceh aceh region
follow me@mackhel