Blast from the past through Speakers|For the love of Nigerian Music

in #busy6 years ago

There is something dainty about music. Sometimes, I just can't get enough of it. I know this 'can't get enough feeling' is the same for a lot of other people, maybe even you.

If you know me well, you would know I love to dance. I do a lot of dancing in front of my mirror when I'm alone at home (don't tell anyone...ssshhh).

For almost a year I lied to myself a lot about my Taste in music. Somehow, my friends' disapproving look when I don't vibe to the latest trap song making wave got me telling myself i loved it just as much. Truth was, I only truly liked a few of them.

But damn! Does my body and spirit come alive when some 'old school' Nigerian songs bursts through a speaker. The surge of electricity the dendrites to the terminal buttons of every nerve cell in body is intense.

Don't get it twisted though, I do love many other kinds of songs from a different time space but I'm particularly into Nigerian 'old' songs these days. I'm quoting the 'old' because to some, these songs might just not be old enough.

So, give me some Lagbaja's koko bellow, never far away (ft Ego) "no do no do no do gra gra for me (gra gra)", some "Lagbaja, nothing for you"🎶 or just about anything Lagbaja

images (29).jpeg
Source

Give me some Tuface and let me show you that nothing dey happen. Any of his songs will do, both old and new. The way I sing 'Only me' with passion amazes me and has remained one of my favs.

download (2).jpeg
Source

Or maybe some Jazzman Olofin's "Raise the roof". Someone needs to find me the guy that made that beat! I like him

images (30).jpeg

How about some love up songs as well as funny ones like 'Iya Basira' by Style Plus. I really still do wonder where they disappeared to.

styl-plus-good-music-africa.jpg

I really can go on and on listing jamz but the are just too many of them. Didn't even bother touching the Juju music part or that of Beautiful Nubia and Fela.

Tell me.. What are you favourite back in the day Nigerian songs?

I can't promise that I'll them but do share.

I love music and I know you do too

Sort:  

Music if food to the soul. Play me more of lagaja.

!play Lagbaja🎵

Lagbaja anytime for real. His music had a soul.