You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You An End-User That Wasn't Into Crypto Prior To Steem?

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

I don't know if I'd call myself an "End User" or "Mainstream User" precisely, as I have a lot of professional IT skills and experience, but hadn't looked into cryptocurrencies that much before finding Steemit.

1. How did you hear about Steem?

One of independent journalist Caitlin Johnstone's articles was re-broadcast on Sott.net, and they made a reference to Steemit as being a new type of social media. I checked out the site, read the whitepaper, and signed up.

2. When did you join?

August 2018.

3. Why did you join? (What was the attraction?)

The community focus on censorship resistance and direct monetisation of content via upvoting were big drawcards.

4. Have you expanded your crypto life beyond just Steem.

Yes. I figured Steem could be used as a store of monetary value and investment as well, and this led to researching more about crypto and blockchains. As I work in the IT industry, I found the subjects a natural fit for my interests. This has led to me taking positions in some other cryptocurrencies (mainly Telos), although I am also looking into the business opportunities of blockchains and DApps.

5. How would you explain your current interest in Steem and Crypto in general?

My interest in Steem has dropped somewhat after witnessing (no pun intended) all the immature politics around and within Steemit Inc and even the community in general. There's a lot of shitposting and noise, although I have found many valuable sources of information and analysis here too. It helps once you start applying a more ruthless filter to who you follow.

6. Are you holding or investing (no judgment here, I am just wanting to prove or disprove the value)

Some investment, but I am happy to hold value here as well, as I think it's reasonably safe despite all the recent brouhaha around Steemit.Inc's powerdown.