Busy life.

in #busy6 years ago

What can I say?

I've been very busy lately. I'm always very busy. I can't really go without being busy.

I have a couple of CVs that I have to write this week for college and a training programme that I'm on. I have a 7000 word essay to write. And I keep going to theatre shows.

This week in Liverpool there's a fringe theatre festival. A few people I know have had shows this week and last, as part of the festival. It sounds lovely, doesn't it?

But all is not lovely for the artists involved. There's the cost. Sure, it's a lot less than what you'd pay to register your show for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, however, the Liverpool Fringe has, I think, only been going for a couple of years.

The next problem is that a few of the people I know who are involved have had issues with the details of their shows not being correct in the publicity put out by the organisers. This is a huge problem. Why charge people for a registration fee to be part of your festival if you aren't going to publicise their shows properly? Surely that's what the fee is for (also to pay the organisers for organising it).

There are other festivals in Liverpool that don't charge artists to take part and that help artists to find venues for their shows. The Liverpool Fringe forces artists to find and pay for their own venues.

Don't tell anyone, but I think it's a bit of a swizz!

That said, I've been to two Liverpool Fringe shows so far and will probably be going to a third on Saturday. Not to support the festival, but to support the people who I know who have been working so hard to make these shows happen.

Anyhow, just felt I needed to rant about the injustice being suffered by starving artists in Liverpool.

I wish @riskdebonair would hurry up and sort out some sort of Merseyside Blockchain Theatre Festival...

(Or maybe one day I will know enough about Blockchain to sort this out myself).