Understanding Exponential Rates And The Steem Opportunity

in #busy5 years ago

I am posting this video that really hit home with me. It gives a wonderful summary of how quickly things are changing. This is the opportunity we are presented with.

Many of you are aware that I write about the Age of Abundance. Two of the key characteristics of this are technology and the speed of change. Things will happen seemingly overnight. Institutions that were around for many decades will collapse at a rapid pace.

There are many stats in this video that should excite Steemians. They deal with some of the growth of social media and the pace of change there. I took a screen shot at one point in the video to provide a contrast.

steem2.png

There are 175 BILLION pins on Pinterest. That is with a "B". Just let that sink in for a second. 175 BILLION pins. This is nothing more than a site where people post links and photos they find interesting.

Do you know what is like that? @dlike (dlike.io). Steem has it's very own version of Pinterest where people can post links and photos of what they like. Of course, by posting on @dlike instead of Pinterest, one earns Dlike tokens and, potentially, some STEEM. Pinterest cannot offer that.

Can you imagine if Dlike had 1/1000th of what Pinterest has? I mean, is it really that hard to submit a photo or a link? Obviously not since it was done 175B times.

Exponential growth is the transition from watching paint dry to taking off on a rocket. One minute it is ho hum, boring and the next, watch out. Here is what the typical curve looks like.

image.png

Source

Understanding this is what helps one weather the rough times. We are all early adopters on Steem right now. The entire blockchain/crypto space is very new. It is at the left side of the curve. Quite frankly, most cannot image where this will all be in 7-10 years.

Let us look at internet users on a chart.

image.png

Source

Notice how it "lagged" in the early days. The truth is that if we charted the first few years, it would have looked exponential after 5 years. But go out 20 years, and the first 5 look flat. Nevertheless, you can see the curve over the first 10 years.

But it did take 10 years to get to 750M users.

Will we see the same thing in blockchain and cryptocurrency? I tend to think so. I also believe that Steem will experience something similar down the road. As long as the development keeps taking place, we will hit the "elbow" of the chart. After that, it is take off.

How will that happen? It will be a process of more people being the early adopters and using the applications that exist now. At the same time, more applications are added which attracts people. Finally, the entire cryptosphere will get more attention thus bringing in more people.

This could happen in the next 12 months or take 4-5 years. Either way, there is good reason to believe this will happen.

Here is the full video.


If you found this article interesting, please give an upvote and resteem.

image.png

Sort:  

Goshhh... how much I enjoyed watching this video.
What a great time to live
!tip

so what should I do to protect my steem power if one day steemit.com doesn't work anymore? I should make redundant copies of my passwords no?

Yes you should have copies of your keys somewhere safe.

As for your SP, busy and steemworld are two apps that will let you power down if steemit.com is gone.

Opportunities everywhere! To bad the average people don’t see them 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

When average people start talking Crypto and start buying in we are real good 😂

Reading your post @taskmaster4450, made me think of this song:

We are all fortunate enough to have made it this far, to see there was a need for change and we found a vehicle that will help us potential ride the tide that is coming.

Long before I got onto steem, I often wondered why someone didn't create a version of facebook that was owned by its users. So you can imagine my excitement when I came across steem. No one invited me, I simply worked my way through all the coins on coin market cap. This was the one project that I could actually use. I would love someone to show me another example. Everything else I tried was buggy, not on their own blockchain or just a promise of a future project.

I was watching a video today by Trace Mayer who is one of the earliest investors in Bitcoin. He talked about the need for deep research and learning to be able to see what is coming. We can simply assume that all those early adopters are just really lucky (and I am sure some are), but to dismiss their foresight would be foolish.

I have loaded up on steem based on what I have learnt. Let's hope times are changing and we are right.

@kabir88

Indeed, still loads of new media and inventions collapsed of the radar too! So, we cannot be complacent and are all responsible for spreading the word around and the development of the platforms!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

Wow - it was pretty fun to watch these numbers flash by! Totally 'feeling' the abundance vibe there :-)

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Opportunities everywhere! To bad the average people don’t see them 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree that the technological changes are happening more and more rapidly. It does make me question if all those changes are good though. Specifically I'm thinking about the number of people who prefer texting to calling. People need connection and I wonder if we're really getting our needs met through text messaging, or if face-to-face conversation, or at least phone calls would do a better job.

There's a lot that will be different by 2025, that's for sure!

Given the model has worked, we really only need to capture a share of it in order to grow exponentially!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's good to know that we are literally a part of something revolutionary. Up until this time such opportunities existed to only privileged few. I first heard about website back in 1998 and immediately wanted to have one for myself but couldn't. But with crypto now I can. And millions of other people can too.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hopeful with you brother. Good example of what could be...

Reesteam!🚀

Hi @taskmaster4450!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.161 which ranks you at #255 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 256).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Damnit. I wrote a nice, lengthy response, and my internet (or perhaps a mistaken mouse-click) ate it.. In either case, I feel you are most correct. I've been aware of the velocity of technology (exponential growth) since roughly 2001... It's taken roughly 25 years, but the world we have today, of social networks and Facetime and so forth, is the world that I and my friends very fervently wished for in 1994... Now we have it, and there are so, so very many GenX'rs getting back into the game. My job is onboard them... lol..