So I have began my first post on the EOS TRYBE platform.

in #busy6 years ago

2018-09-02_17-33-14.png

Its an interesting platform. Not really sure what to think about it thus far. What I CAN say is that its unusually profitable for a platform like this at the moment. The Trybe token is possibly over valued right now at 0.011 EOS right now according to newdex. Once the airgrab happens I cant really imagine that will be sustainable.

2018-09-02_17-49-20.png

This means that this simple post I did got me around 8.9 USD worth of Trybe tokens. I feel like that is a bit too good but hey! Money is money right! I dont seem to have the ability to sell these tokens yet and I am not sure if they improve my voting power or anything to that effect just yet.


On chain governance debate

In the past I remember coming to a disagreement with @eostribe awhile back in terms of how the on chain governance should be utilized for the EOS platform. There were a handful of block producers who wanted to use the on chain governance model for a wide range of things. I vehemently disagreed with that stance and still do to this day.

It turned out afterwords that @Dan pretty much mirrored my concerns. I don't feel that on chain governance should be utilized unless its a very clean cut or very desperate situation. Saving someones wallet because he lost a password does harm to the value of everyone else by causing FUD to the entire platform. The end result is that you saved one individuals wallet and caused the entire market to dump 10-30% in the process. Its just not worth it. Its infinitely better to save the functionality of on chain governance as a last resort and I completely agree with Dans position on the topic now.

I am pretty sure at this point most people are on board with what Dan has said regarding the topic. So I am pretty complacent right now for the most part.


Heavy Moderation?

So with that said I noticed that with the trybe network when you submit a new post you have to

2018-09-02_18-05-54.png

I am not really sure about the nature of this. But I believe this means a human being will have to examine the content of the post? That sounds even more restrictive than Facebook, Youtube and Twitter. Is this a temporary thing during the early days? I also noticed that I can delete peoples comments. on my posts.

Interesting... I take it that this means trybe will be a fairly moderated place. I don't mind this if that is the platforms actual goal from the start. It only urks me when a platform is a monopoly and/or promises people to have an unfiltered voice when that promise is untrue.

With that said I would honestly prefer very little moderation. But if its literally getting paid to speak positively about EOS then it fits my agenda right now anyway. If I suddenly get quiet then you can worry ;)


Most of my other concerns or thoughts about the platform are simple things that barely need mentioning. The interface can use some work to feel more clean, responsive and accessible. Its a brand new site so I am sure they are working on those things.

Its meant to be a niche of the cryptocurrency space which is fine, but I imagine with the moderation going on this will most likely be an EOS echo chamber. That will be amusing. It would be rather hilarious to get some ETH maximalists who make a career promoting LOOM projects on Trybe. The Irony would be so thick at that point I don't imagine it would be sustainable.

Ill talk about the site more, I plan to use it to at least mirror my crypto discussions I already post here on busy.

Send me a friend request on EOS TRYBE : thecastlexxx
thecastlexxx is my social media account on EOS

Sort:  

Voting power goes up but caps at 200. The userbase is growing faster by the day i love trybe. Can self vote but you dont get any tokens . just thought i would add some info for you. Its early days :p

Interesting indeed. My repost of this post got me 200 tokens. Which is 2.2 EOS going from current value of the token. That's a lot of money from a repost.

How many tokens do you need to hit the 200 limit?

Yeah way over valued. Not sure before it was unlimited upvote and self upvote allowed. from memory it was about 4 percent upvote to token ratio

Link me to your post :)

I friended and followed you there.

I'm not sure everything is stored on a blockchain. It might be, but not really sure. You can do a ctrl-u and look at the HTML for your article. It's apparently just a standard WordPress site with BuddyPress plugin in. But maybe the voting and token balances are on a blockchain. If it's hosted on a shared server, like on a GoDaddy account, that will make it slow.

I just joined and haven't posted yet, just a few comments. Let's see what happens!