You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The unusual world of tipping.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

you should get paid by the hour. you should get paid by your employer! You live and work in a country where such practice is common. Sad.
I see tipping to be over and above the wages for good service, whether it is a waiter or a repairman, the mailman or the chimney sweep. But all should get a living wage and don't rely on charity, because that is what your employer counts on, that you work for him for free, he charges a high price for his food and then expects the customer to pay the staff wages on top of it!?
Well, only in America, Trumpland, the greatest country in the world, so they say! I am happily living in a civilized country where employers pay their employees, and not make them beg for scraps! But then again, where I live, we have Unions!
But I know how it is, I worked in restaurants myself, lucky for me, not in a country like the US. And you did not even mention that the taxman is "estimating" what you earn in tips. You might just have to pay taxes on money you didn't even get. Yeah, the "Greatest Country in the World"!

Sort:  

It definitely has some problems.