Steem Ibadan Meet-up: Official Report

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0011.jpg
From left to right: @phait, @gee1, @mosunomotunde and @optimistdehinde

On Saturday the 24th of February 2018, I organized what I consider the biggest Steem meet-up so far in Africa. I didn't do it alone. I partnered with @fisteganos and an amazing team of over 20 individuals. It was a Steem meet-up organized by the entire STACH Community.

The purpose of the meet-up was to provide education on the steem blockchain and cryptocurrency to the people of Ibadan, to promote Steem and to create an avenue where Steemians all over Nigeria can come together, interrelate and share ideas.

Was the purpose achieved? Yes! What I discovered from the meet-up is that a lot of people truly don't know and they are eager to learn. It is needful at this point that we have a Steem Academy in Ibadan Nigeria. This Steem Academy will go in hand in hand with the Steem Accelerator Hub when it is launched. So many people do not know how to go and research for


The Organising Team

committee.jpg

The organising team consists of the following individuals.

@fisteganos
@tojukaka
@mosunomotunde
@fanen
@deronke
@kingsolo
@thelovejunkie
@sushie
@stacey31
@blessbolaji
@adejoke16
@abeem90
@awolesigideon
@nwamaka
@jeaniepearl
@akintunde
@trillex
@woleybabz
@iamatabo
@iojo
@bisodun
@gabdovey
@olufisayo
@leileh
@phait
@olumideolowoyeye
@tomilolafadipe
@mistakili
@japfive

I'd like to give a honorary mention to @mosunomotunde who took charge of the logistics and hotel reservations e.t.c. She brought a new standard and a new light to our community.

@japfive brought the idea of a red carpet. This was a splendid idea. It made the event come alive.


Attendance and Registration


They were over 200 persons in attendance. This is very remarkable. The first meet-up in Ibadan comprised of only four people.

DSC_2345.jpg


The Event

Red Carpet


The event started with the welcoming of guests at the red carpet. @adejoke16 and @phait took charge of the red carpet.

DSC_2436.jpg

DSC_2452.jpg

DSC_2112.jpg

You can watch videos of the red carpet by clicking on the following links.

DTube Link 1

DTube Link 2


Presentations

The primary purpose of the meet-up was education, hence the presentations were given primal importance. This is an overview of presenters and what they presented.

DSC_0117.jpg
@gee1 made a presentation on the topic: Newbie plague.


DSC_2324.jpg
@ejemai made a presentation on the topic STACH. He shared the vision and mission of STACH.


DSC_2281.jpg

IMG_20180226_123946_624.jpg

IMG_20180226_124026_527.jpg
@tojukaka
I made a presentation on the topic: Steemit!

Tojukaka's DTube Presentation 1

Tojukaka's DTube Presentation 2

Tojukaka's DTube Presentation 3


DSC_2359.jpg
@ehiboss talked about password security and securing of accounts.


DSC_2392.jpg
@destinysaid gave a very fantastic presentation on the topic: SteemApp. I really liked his presentation, it was my favorite. I like it because he exposed people to the wonders and prospects of the Steem Blockchain.


DSC_2261.jpg
@gbenga talked about Steem Abuse, Steem Cleaners, Plagiarism e.t.c.


DSC_2228.jpg
@samstickkz

Samstickkz talked about blockchain and cryptocurrencies. He gave the audience a good introduction to the subject.


DSC_2383.jpg
@nairadaddy talked about "bringing your ideas to the Steem blockchain. He used air-clinic as a case study.


DSC_2350.jpg
@thelovejunkie talked about Steem etiquette.


DSC_0031.jpg
The MCs: @mediahousent and @sushie


AMA with @tojukaka, @samstickkz and @fisteganos.

DSC_2418.jpg

At the climax of the program, there was a Q and A session with some notable community leaders namely: @tojukaka, @fisteganos, and @samstickkz.

You can watch the video clips of the AMA session on the following links:

Dtube Link 1

Dtube Link 2


You can view a picture montage of the meet-up by clicking on the link below.

Picture Montage


Funding


The meet-up was funded by members of the STACH community in Ibadan. You can view a record of our contributions here.


Appreciation

Special thanks to @donkeypong for his unprecedented support and generousity. Thanks to @ejemai for his exemplary end visionary leadership. Thanks to everyone that contributed towards the success of the meet-up. People that travelled from far and wide to attend the meet-up, thank you!


Conclusion


I've been active in Steemit for almost a year now. The very first meet-up in Ibadan comprised of just four individuals. Now we have over 200 people attending a meet-up. Isn't that just amazing? Just being in this space and watching the events unfold has been a very educational experience. I've seen communities grow from a few individuals to a very large group. I've seen projects start and fail and I've also seen some success. Some of the things that are happening now are things that I saw in my mind's eye in the past. The only thing that took me by surprise is that spike in SBD price months ago. I didn't see that coming. I wonder how big the next meet-up would be. I wonder how SMTs and communities will come and change a lot of things. But I'm ready for change and I hope that you are ready.

Thank you for reading. I do hope to see you on the moon soon.


kaka-s.png

Where there is darkness, I'll shine the light.

Sort:  

You have received a @GrumpyCat flag because you or someone else sent money to buy votes from an irresponsible non-GrumpyCompliant service.

@sneaky-ninja and @aksdwi are acting irresponsibly by selling votes to people on their post very close to final payout. (~99% abuse rate)

Sending money to these bots is also financially supporting for-profit spammers.

To know what voting bot to use, refer to https://steembottracker.com/ and use those that have 3.5 day or less in the "Max Age" column.
Important, The above bots have made no effort to comply for months so the votes they sell might still be targeted even if they change their Max Age to 3.5 day.

Learn more ...

WE ARE THE RESISTANCE!

@GrumpyCat

Your self upvote is flagged by The-Resistance team using the WE-RESIST bot.
We will be resisting with a team, stronger each day, unless you stop downvoting innocent people.

To your tyranny WE-RESIST

The Resistance
Discord: https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

This post is only 2 days old. Why wouldn't you just flag posts that are >3.5 days?

Hello Mr. @tojukaka , your humility is second to non. I can boldly say that you are good fellow and someone one should move close to. Your Ibadan program was a lite to me and others and from the response of people, your effort and that of the team is applaudable. Am looking forward to meeting you again in the nearest future
IMG_6210.JPG

BOOM! 💥

Very nicely put together. You don't know how excited I feel every time I remember I've got you on my team! Countless things I wouldn't venture to do myself, you bring them to light with relative ease. Ibadan is blessed to have you sir.

And this is only the beginning!

I can't agree less, @tojukaka is a blessing to the ibadan community.

Absolutely!

The biggest Steem event so far this year in Nigeria, its definitely going to set the tune on how other events will be organized around the country.

Big ups to the organizers for an amazing job well done, a personal THANK YOU to @fisteganos, for inviting me to witness this incredible event!

I'm happy you made it bro! Against all odds 😁

Awesome. Mr. @tojukaka . This is the like the "bible" of the whole event.

Please edit my name as @akintunde instead of @jegedeakintunde

Detailed and beautifully done report. You rock @tojukaka. Your effort even on the day of the meetup to run all the way just to give that day the beauty that it turned out to be cannot be overemphasized. Thanks for being such a great steemian.

You are a power house of steem/steemit motivation for so many Toju! Thanks a gazillion for the mention, it was a joy to be useful

Great to see you guys put together such a great event out there! Keep going strong as this is just the start. You guys and gals are shining a budding light that will hopefully spread far and grow. I've given you my highest vote so more visibility comes to this.

We had a awesome time learning from you guys, it was a beautiful meetup, thanks so much to the organisers, the pizza was good too,looking forward to the next meetup

WE ARE THE RESISTANCE!

You are bullied by @grumpycat on your post.
We are resisting this.

Check this link,spread the word and join us if you would agree.
https://steemit.com/the-resistance/@the-resistance/we-declare-resistance

@GrumpyCat, to your tyranny WE-RESIST

The Resistance
Discord: https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

Well captured and summarized. The best will always be the best. And your one!

Osheyyy... Baddest. I want another meet-up oh... Let's hold this one in Lagos.

It saddens my heart knowing that alot of people came and i wasnt there. When is the next meetup?

I was present at the meetup and it was educative expecially for we newbies. Thanks so much

The meet-up was a blast. I had great fun and learned a lot more than I knew. It was mind blowing meeting everyone there. The snacks were on point also. Thank you for this amazing feeling.
Gracias

Ok guys. Nice. When are we having the big meetup in Uyo? I simply can't wait anymore...lolz.... Good job guys. Good job!

So, that is how i did not show in the pictures o. Issorait. Hahahaha. This is very detailed bro. I wasn't expecting anything different. Well done bro.

When is the next meet up?

Great job. Steemit is taking over, I won't miss the next one .

Though am not present at the meeting then, but looking forward to have the get together again... Good job done

This is great.
I'm looking forward to a Kaduna Steem Meetup.
Please, how do I contact you, telegram or whatsapp.

absolutely

It was indeed a blast. Great minds working together would ptoduce a great result. Though in absentia, heard and saw so much about it.
Kudos @tojukaka

Oh! that's a great moment, all steemian together. It's enjoyable.

Good job my people, you and your organizing commitee did a great Job. kudos

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 31.43% vote... I was summoned by @tojukaka! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

It was nice being a part of this event. I haven't gotten over the awesomeness and quality of the event. I learned series of things. Thanks again for making it happen.

I haven't find another way of contacting you but I felt I could still make a comment here since it's related to the post. I entered the selfie challenge. Here the link to my selfie with @ejemai : https://steemit.com/stach/@mrbreeziewrites/ibadan-meet-up-selfie-challenge

I submitted the link to the selfie on the comment section of the selfie contest announcement post. I resteemed the post and submitted within the specified time. @adejoke16 did something like that too and was given her 1sbd. I didn't get mine. So, I'm writing this as a reminder. Kindly help check through. Thanks

You got a 40.65% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @tojukaka!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 5.06% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @tojukaka!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You, my friend, rock!!! I am so in awe of you and what you are doing!! You really are a community builder!!

Can you please talk a little bit on the SteemApp?

Is there like a mobile app to use to login to #steemit?

I will like to know about it, for android and like to hear about your experience using it.

Thank you, @tojukaka