Original photo series: Butterflies of California #3, Painted Lady

in #butterflies7 years ago (edited)

Here is a recent photo I took of the Painted Lady butterfly, Vanessa cardui.

paintedlady1.jpg

This species is closely related to the West Coast Lady, Vanessa annabella, which is actually much more common here in California, and the American Painted Lady, Vanessa virginiensis.

I think the plant that the lady is enjoying is the California Buckwheat, not sure about that, I'm not knowledgeable about plants.

Sort:  

Beautiful beautiful shot! Wow. Thank you so much for sharing. I wouldn't know the difference between butterflies even though I love watching them flutter around..but I never get a good close look and so you do that for me inadvertently. Appreciate that :) Keep it up.

Nice one. I used to see that species in Scotland. Here in Tasmania we have the Australian Painted Lady, Vanessa kershawi.