Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 31

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! I am sorry for having to postpone Week 31 of Thursday is Butterflyday and Insect Day Giveaway. My sister-in-law is off of the respirator, breathing on her own and finally out of ICU. Yay! Thanks so much for your thoughts and prayers.

Here we go for Week 31. Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and insects from all over the world and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and other insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for art work and 1-SBI for photos. If no art work is submitted, then 2-SBI will be given away for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks to all for your amazing entries! There are 4 winners for Week 30 and they are: @allyson19, @thekittygirl, @sketch.and.jam and @lenasveganliving. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and artwork from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the giveaway, you MUST put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but are greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos for today of the Peck's Skipper Butterfly.

Skippers are in the family Hesperiidae and are difficult to identify. I have only been able to identify 5 of them and the markings on this skipper made it easy. It is the Peck's skipper and it is sipping nectar from the flowering Never Die plant.

Skippers have short, thick bodies, huge eyes, and short antennae that usually have hooked clubs. Most are small but there are some that are medium in size, and their colors are usually brown, gray, tan orange and black. There are approximately 275 species in North America and over 3.500 species worldwide. They get their name because of the fast flight which makes them look like they are skipping from flower to flower.

This one is sharing the flowers with the Common Buckeye butterfly which surprises me because skippers usually chase all others away.

The same Peck's skipper sharing with a medium size Silver-Spotted skipper.

Here is an interesting fact. According to nature.mdc.mo.gov, "Peck's skipper was named in honor of William Dandridge Peck (1763-1822) who was a Harvard natural history professor and the first scientist to formally describe and name the spring cankerworm. He was the first native born professional entomologist in the United States."

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: nature.mdc.mo.gov, butterfliesandmoths.org

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Proof of transfer.

Sort:  

Glad to hear your sister is doing better. Here is my post for the challenge. Releasing a Monarch to the garden.

https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@sunscape/butterflyday-and-insectpub-challenge-swallowtail-butterfly-by-sunscape
b butterfly 3.jpg

Thanks @sunscape! Nice to see you and thanks for your entry. : )

You are most welcome. I just came across the challenge and I do love a challenge. ;-)

I am very happy that you are here. : )

Week 31 🐞 🌹 Woohoo!! Will see what I can find! :-)

Looking forward to your find @shasta! : )

Yay thank you I won. I thought the skipper butterfly is only found in some countries like mine here in the tropical island Philippines. I didn't know what they are called until I read your post @whatisnew thank you again for the information. I used to catch skippers when I was little and usually the brown ones are the only kind I see here

My pleasure @allyson19! It makes me happy when you learn something from me so thank you for that. : ) I am also happy that you have fond memories of these fun skippers. : )

Glad to hear your sister in law is getting better. Icu is no fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much @sketch.and.jam!

Here's a crab spider for this week, I did'nt find any butterflies this week. https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@sketch.and.jam/butterfly-an-insect-day-crab-spider-u3sgipcz

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, no...another spider! Thanks for your entry...I think. LOL!

Thanks god your sister-in-law is better. So glad to hear thst.

Thanks so much Neli! : )

I am so happy to hear that about your sister-in-law @whatisnew!! Beautiful photos!! I love seeing the skippers when they visit! The Astilbe was the pink tree looking flowers..sorry for the confusion. 💞

Thanks @deerjay! OMG! You are right. I made a mistake and will fix it now. Still exhausted and not thinking straight.

You're welcome but it's perfectly okay and understandable. Believe me, I know the feeling. 🙂

I don't know which is prettier... The butterfly or flower ??

Aw, what a nice comment. Thanks Mike! : 0

Those are such beautiful photos! Wow! @Tipu curate

Here is my humble cabbage white.

https://esteem.app/photography/@melinda010100/cabbage-white-butterflies

Thanks Melinda and thanks so much for the Tipu curation! And another thanks for your entry. : )

Beautiful view

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and thanks for stopping by! : )

I am happy your sister in law is doing better! Thank you so much and congratulations to all the winners. Beautiful photos by the way especially the Buckeye butterfly, which we don't have here in Canada. At least I never saw them 🦋🌸🦋

My pleasure and thanks for your kind words. You can see better photos of the Buckeye here if interested. : )

Oh wow! Those are really stunning shots! Gorgeous butterfly 🦋😊🦋

This is my new entry:
https://steemit.com/esteem/@lenasveganliving/ladybugs-and-sunflowers-for-butterfly-and-insect-day

Thank you and thanks for your entry! : )

My pleasure Dear @whatisnew 😍

I didn't know there was an illness in your family. So glad your sister-in-law is on the mend. I noticed your blog was silent and missed your wonderful nature pictures.
@brisby! Beautiful GIF!
This is a wonderful post, as usual.
Resteeming :)

Hi friend! Yes, my SIL almost died so we are very happy that she is doing so well now. It warms my heart to know that you have missed my nature photos and I have a big smile on my face right now. Thanks so much for your support and hope all is well with you and yours. : )
I love that beautiful gif that @brisby made for me too. : )

Wow two skippers in one shot! How cool is that!
Beautiful photographs @whatisnew! :-)
My crane fly entry

🐜

Thanks @shasta and thanks for your entry. : )

Lucky find on the beach.. A living treasure ...

https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@manorvillemike/beach-butterfly

DSC_0408 (2).JPG

Hi Mike! Thanks for your entry. : )

Nice, really like the markings on that one!
Good shot!

I was almost thinking to go back and search my old photos, when I saw the hoverflies and managed few shots.
https://steemit.com/insectpub/@nelinoeva/insect-day-hoverflies

Hi Neli! Glad you saw the hoverflies and thanks for your entry. : )

Oh Nice !!
I just found out what this this was lol
IMG_0020 (3).JPG
Thought it was some sort of Bumble-fly masquerading as a bee...

Great shot! The hoverflies looked like wasps but they are harmless.

Welcome back @whatisnew !!
Hope everything is well with you and everything turned out alright.
Here is the link to my post for week #31
https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@chromiumone/butterfly-and-insect-thursday-giveaway-week-31-along-came-a-spider
IMG_0035 (2).JPG

Thanks @chromiumone! It is good to be back. Thanks for your entry. : )

First of all, I'm very happy to know that your sister-in-law is now out of ICU. Hope she gets well soon very soon.

The skippers are magnificent. The information is very interesting.

The flower is very gorgeous with lovely colors.

Thanks so much for sharing. ;)

Thanks for your kind words and support @tangmo! : ) Hopefully I will post some white flowers for you next week. : )

You're welcome!

Oh! That'll be really great! I look forward to your white flowers with much interest. ;)

Great to you back and am happy your sister in law is doing better and as always to come up with the most beautiful butterflies and i love the flower they are feeding off well here is my entry for week #31

Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- 31 - The Monarch Butterflies.

2m3rco66dq.jpg

Thanks so much for your kind words @hangin and thanks for your entry! : )

My pleasure and thank you 👍

Hola! ¡Que bueno verte @gertu! Gracias por tu entrada. : )

Gracias, es bueno regresar. Muchas gracias por su concurso.

Estoy muy feliz de que te guste mi concurso. Gracias por hacerme sonreir. : )

Howdy Butterfly! Great photos and great job on the contest!