B&W Photo Contest - Food -"Mushroom hunters have questionable morels"

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry for @daveks black and white photo contest.
You can check my seond entry here.

The theme of this contest is food and for this entry I've chosen to submit a picture of one of the favorite mushrooms in North America, morels (Morchella sp.).
First, the picture and then I'll get to the story behind it.

image

This picture was taken with an iPhone 4S camera.

I have conflicted feelings about morel hunting and the culture around these mushrooms.

One aspect I really enjoy about mushroom foraging is how people share their knowledge and the experience of being in nature. (I actually wrote a comic about it).

That's not the case for morels. When people go looking for morels they don't like to be followed to their secret spots where they know the precious mushrooms grow year after year. People still share their knowledge, but most of them ignore any mushroom that's not a morel and look at each other with envy counting how many morels others have found.

I found these four morels last Spring when I was out trying to learn how to identify local trees. I found a patch and I got four to eat them that night.

On my way back I met a group of people that peaked at my basket curiously and asked me where I have found them. At first I was hesitant to reveal the location of my recently discovered secret patch but I decided to tell them. Inmediately, they run towards the area and I was left behind wondering if I had done the right thing.

A common topic of discussion that comes out a lot during morel season is whether picking mushrooms hurts the mycelium (underground fungal body) or not.
Most people interested in picking morels would tell you that it doesn't since mushrooms are just the spore bearing structures and the fungi is still alive underground. However, any mushroom grower would tell you that the mycelium can't produce mushrooms indefinitely and eventually dies.

I've never been able to convince any morel enthusiast with this argument and that concerns me. Mushroom foragers praise themselves as nature lovers, but that's clearly not the case with morels. If we keep picking these mushrooms without leaving any behind to spread their spores their numbers will keep decreasing and we won't get to enjoy them anymore in the future.

So, if you like picking morels (or any other mushroom), remember to leave some behind next time you find a patch.

Some mushroom hunters have questionable morels, but people can change.


Minnowsupportproject

Proud member and supporter of the minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click the logo below to learn more


SteemSTEM

Interested in science, technology, engineering and mathematics? Then, please support @steemstem, a community-supported project aiming to increase the quality and the visibility of well-written, high-quality, STEM-related content. Just click the banner below created by @foundation to join the chat channel.

Sort:  

Hope the other people you told about the spot don't over-harvest it. Sometimes keeping it secret is the only way to protect it. @originalworks

That's probably right, it would have been better not to tell them.
Thanks for the upvote and the bot!

Thanks a lot for the nomination to @shadowspub's Steemit Ramble!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fabulousfungi to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks does? Give it an upvote to support this project and keep it free!
For more information, Click Here!

Ugh, it is rough when people get too greedy once something holds higher monetary value (same with our oceans and a million other examples). Morels look so fun and brainy!

For me it's even worse when they try to justify their greediness with made-up arguments.
I wish I knew how I could convince people to pick mushrooms in a more sustainable way.
Thanks a lot for reading my post!!

My favorite mushroom ever. Nice post.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Hi @fabulousfungi, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thanks for your support @shadowspub!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 5.36 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @fabulousfungi. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

This post received a 3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @fabulousfungi! For more information, click here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Morels hide so well that I have to believe that for evey one that is harvested there are many more that are never found. There is so much private land and hidden woodlots that no one enters that I think the future of morels is protected. Congrats on your find! Great photo!