Some quick tips for B&W images

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago

Tips for B&W pictures

Forget colors, look for contrast

Start looking for contrasting scenes with prominent shadows. Colors will disappear in BnW images. Visualize the world in BnW before taking the image.

Look for texture

Rough textures will cast fine shadows that become noticeable in B&W as there are no colors to distract us.

Look for patterns

Patterns are interesting and without colors their might be more interesting.

Use postprocessing

Changing the brightness depending of color will give you a lot of possibilities. Don't shy away from increasing or reducing contrast. There are lots of ways to edit a B&W image and B&W images tend to be more forgiving to "overprocessing".

Use many shades of gray

B&W images don't have to be only black and white. Use different shades of gray to bring out detail and make your images more interesting.

Pay attention to composition

Composition takes a bigger role in B&W for there is no color to distract us. (Leading lines, rule of thirds, symmetry etc)



My gear:

Camera: Pentax K-50
Lenses: DA*50-135 / DA-L 18-55 WR / Cosinon 1.8 50mm
Flash: Yongnuo YN660
Tripod: Zomei Q555
Phone: Samsung S3


You can find me on:




Questions about photography are welcome!
Upvote, comment, resteem and follow if you like!
Have a great day!

Sort:  

Many thanks for your sharing!
I am Ju - also a photographer and have just joined to steem.
I share to you some my photos, if you like it, please follow and upvote to me via this link:
https://steemit.com/travel/@jumartphoto/mu-cang-chai-golden-rice-terraced-fields-in-vietnam

Here is my photos! Many thanks you guy!

IMG_9324.jpg

IMG_9347.jpg

Great pictures. You know what you are doing :)
Following.

Very informative .. Just want to add that if there are lot colours then just concentrate to tonal contrast post processing the image. It will be really useful. BDW thanks for the useful information :)

I agree. Welcome!

very nice picture.

Thank you for your all information

Welcome!

Thank you so much, what do you say we in this post is very interesting for me personally. Thanks for the knowledge and tips that you provide. Hopefully, I can do it. :) @sulev

I hope you can!

of course, learn learn and learning

Thanks for your tips for black and white photography. The picture for the contest is so nice. thanks for sharing. hope for the best.

I'm not participating in the contest myself. I'm just judging.

Gloomy and scary. I would not go into this transition.

Doesn't looks so gloomy in real life though :)

Thanks for the tips! ;) Looking forward to your next posts!

Thank you for sharing your tips.