A day trip to an unknown destination - Crab Island in Selangor, Malaysia

13.png

It was a Thursday night when I personally requested for a leave the next day. Usually, it was not allowed. It has to be planned a week prior. But my boss understood perfectly because I have been in an extremely stressful work week. Working an average of 12 hours a day. Draining and exhausting. I need to recharge!
I was thinking where will I go. It was morning. Preparing my breakfast. While I was waiting for my bacon to be cooked, I glanced through our window and saw the train. I am staying on the 29th floor so I have the best view of the surroundings.

19.png

Then a light bulb moment! What if I will go to the last station of the train line in our area? I usually rode that train going to the North, I haven't been to the South. My workplace is only 4 stations (North) away from my unit. I got so excited with that thought.

I left my unit around 11AM. I walked to the KTM Petaling station for more or less 5 minutes. I waited for several minutes and the train arrived. It says, the last station is Pelabuhan Klang. 15 stations. No idea. No expectations. None at all.

The train was almost empty therefore I had the luxury of choosing where I could sit. I sat next to the window. I was really thrilled. As it went farther, you can see that fewer and fewer skyscrapers can be seen. I love rural life. Calmer and relaxing. We reached the last station. It was an hour ride. The train ride cost around 4.50RM or 54PhP. It was then I found out that Pelabuhan Klang is Port Klang in english. Facepalm. There should be a beach! I’ll take a swim. Being a thalassophile, I can’t contain myself. Excited to get off the train.

1.png

Several tumbling away was the Port area. Terminal Penumpang South Port. Unfortunately, I found out that the beach is not advisable for swimming. Ships docked there and the water is not that clean. That was the bad news. But there was good news! There’s an island near the port. Pulau Ketam or Crab Island. It is a small island located off the coast of Klang.

So I immediately checked the schedule of the next ferry going to the island. It will be in an hour.

It was noon and I thought of bringing my packed food. Being the picky-eater me, I have to make sure that I can eat something. KFC was the nearest. The ferry was jam-packed. I believed most of them were residents of the island and visits their families on weekends. It was a smooth 40 minute ride.

21.png

Upon reaching the dock, you will be greeted by gigantic letters that spell KETAM. It’s like a welcome to the island.

2.png

I saw motorcycle rentals and e-bike rentals. I believe it costs between 10RM - 20RM per hour.

I didn't know how to drive either of the two. So I opted to just walk and explore the island by foot. It was a sunny day. I already walked half of the island when I knew that there were regular bikes for rent. Another facepalm.

Pulau Ketam is equipped with almost all the basic facilities. A police station, bank, hospital, temples, fire station, hostels, public market, restaurants and shops. Name it, they have it.
4.png

5.png

6.png

7.png

With about 95% of its people being Chinese. The only difference is that all the structures were built on stilts. Usually made of long wooden stilts. The abodes were suspended to about ten meters above sea level.

8.png

Hhhmmmm…reliving the memories of Jetty Port in Penang and Kampung Ayer in Brunei. I also thought of the Badjao’s, the indegenous people of ZamBaSulTa region in Mindanao. And the best part, Pulau Ketam is free from any traffic as there were no cars. It's a tiny island where there's really nothing much to do as the island is surrounded by mangroves. A perfect habitat for crabs. It was just so sad that when I arrived there was low tide.

9.png

10.png

I was on the other side of the island when I asked a random person from the island (my last chance). Honestly, I have been asking people there but none spoke with me as they said, they don’t speak english. He was cleaning his shoes as he walked onto the muddy area (it was a shortcut) going to the dock. I approached him and asked the way to the dock. Finally! He can speak english. Whew! He gave me directions but apparently he will go there too.

I tagged along with him and we reached the dock. We bought a ticket and the good thing was, the ferry had already arrived. The ferry had 2 decks. The lower deck is an enclosed one as it was air conditioned. The upper deck was open. We chose the latter because I want to feel the sea breeze and to enjoy the view in the most natural way. I asked him about the island. By the way, his name is Yeoh. He was originally a resident of the island. However, when he got married he stayed in Selangor. He works in the island as a Supervisor in a gas company and he takes the ferry everyday. He was so gracious and patient enough to answer all my questions.

18.png

14.png

15.png

17.png

After an hour, the ferry arrived. I bade farewell to him. I need to catch the train the soonest as I have an appointment in the evening.

I must admit that this is not a typical tourist destination. Nonetheless, it was still an exceptional experience for me as I was able to visit that part of Selangor. Likewise, I gained another friend.


While I was doing this blog, I asked Yeoh to take a picture of the island during high tide
20.png

12.png

Sort:  

Swerte, mabait ang boss! Bakit dito sa Pinas, di tayo mapayagan na magbakasyon ng biglaan after ng stressful workweek? Haha.

Oh, btw, nalimot mo ata ilagay sa haveyoubeenhere community itong travel mo. Sa next posts mo, if it's about travel, (which it usually is) dun mo post ha. Tas don't forget to pin the location din sa map. :)

Thanks Tyra. Sya kaya gumawa ng task ko at nang maramdamanan nya sa stressful workweek hahaha...Joke..mabait bosing ko..welfare at well-being ang iniisip for us hehehe

Uu nga e..nawala sa isip ko..thanks for reminding me..

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thank you..will improve more to give better stories..

Congratulations @palosonthelo0se! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I miss Malaysia so much. I miss my home in JB. Been 2 years cannot enter.
I hope Malaysia will open for tourist soon.

Lovely images. Thank you for sharing