You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing the Steem Use-a-Thon by Byteball

in #byteball6 years ago (edited)

Just crunch Word Community Grid for 2 days on a regular PC and you will receive 5 million from Byteball itself. You even support science doing so!

Check out this link: https://medium.com/byteball/computing-for-good-again-3795336bdaed

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this

So this is applicable to just PC. what about smart phones??

It works on an Android smartphone as well but your daily output will be lower.

So how do I get the free byte ball?

In a nutshell:

  1. Install BOINC from Google Play Store
  2. Create an account on World community Grid
  3. Start BOINC on Android
  4. Select WCG in BOINC
  5. Link WCG and Byteball wallet : link

When you have completed all these steps, your smartphone will perform scientific calculations for WCG while connected to the powersocket. Based on the performed calculations you will be awarded GBytes through your Byteball wallet.

Great, I'll steal my dad's Android to do this. :D

Can I do it on my iPhone?

I used to be a bigshot @ WCG and Boinc from 2001, 2003 and 2007. I still am but I only have 2 computers now :)
Does it listen to GPU Grid also?
Thanks for sharing this!

Unfortunatly you can only earn Bytes crunching WCG but you could earn Gridcoin while crunching GPUGrid.

I will try to tinker with it again but it never gets up to date.

Syncing the Gridcoin wallet can take some time indeed but you can speed-up the process when you download a snapshot.

There is an active Gridcoin community #gridcoin on Steemit as well.

You can always leave your comments there because people (like myself) are happy to help you.

Hi @parejan. Please could you enlighten me on how to get free byteballs? I'm not conversant with world community grid nor crunching it. Please help.

Good to find this here :D

I thought the "mining" system was down, seems it's up, time to get back on it!