MY CACTUS ASTROPHYTUM - PROBLEMS

in #cactus6 years ago

I really like cacti!
2 years ago I had cacti of astrophytum for the first time.

IMG_20171202_152025---+++.jpg

When I bought the last astrophytum, I saw on it a brown strip and a small brown spot on his foot.
I showed it to the owner of the store and asked what it was.
In response, she received: that neither of which is terrible, it happens ...

IMG_20171202_151844---+++.jpg

I calmed down and bought it, because the second cactus was not the same.

And in vain ...

These spots began to increase ...

4q6ub0tq---1.jpg

I have been collecting cacti for many years.
But I faced this problem for the first time!

From the information I found, it became clear that I could not do anything more ...

If only they explained to me on the day of purchase, the chance of rescuing the cactus would still be there.

yhf7r6b1---1.jpg

Gradually the astrophytum becomes like a bark near a tree.
Google not translates this word, but I'll write. This disease is called:
stiffness and the second name - crocheting (that is, it becomes like a cork of champagne).

zk5qh8ux---1+.jpg

Some experienced cactus breeders advise:
Cut the astrophytum to live tissue with a conical shape.
Dry, then sprinkle with charcoal and then put again. Do not water a week!

In my case, it's too late. Do not know ... can still try?
Has anyone encountered such a problem?

Sort:  

I like Astrophytums, too.
The English word that you are looking for is corking and it refers to scarring of the outside. It looks like there is a fungus. It is often hard to tell with cacti what is harmless corking and what is not, I have some that have it harmlessly although I would say that the colouration is much lighter and I would always worry about dark patches if I saw them
It probably is too late but you may as well try, because it will die anyway as that dark patch spreads

Many thanks! I'll try. The proprietress of the store I will say about my displeasure. She has a greenhouse, she could explain to me, I'm her regular customer. Not only cacti, but other plants.

You should tell her

Yes

how long have you been a cacti grower? do cactus get sick fast or easily?

I have cacti, which are already 33, 34 and 35 years old. And they never hurt. The main thing to buy a healthy cactus in the store. And then properly watered. I do not apply fertilizers to cacti.

Wow, I didn't know that they can grow that many years! How lovely!

I will give cacti by inheritance ha-ha :-)

Have you ever try to grow Astros from seeds? They are easy to grow from seeds, they germinate easy and have adorable look from the beginning.
I advise you to try. You'll get more healthier plants!

Thank you. No, I have not tried it. The stores do not sell these seeds. And my astrophytum has not yet blossomed. Do you have a lot of them?

I have few older ones, few grown ups, few small ones and many seedling :)
Here are some seedlings:

Try to find some seeds on net. Astros seeds are not expensive...

Beautiful!

Oh wow, it is such a pity. It is gorgeous!
I would still try to save it. If you do not try, you will lose anyway.
Cut off all the sick parts and dry it properly. Maybe it will survive.

Thank you. Yes, I will, still have nothing to lose ...

When it's healthy, does this cactus flower as well?

Sorry, the computer translator did not translate well - I
did not understand the question.

Does it flower?
What language do you speak?

It's a cactus.
I speak Greek and Russian.

Lovely, so you speak Russian & English! Very good!

No, Greek and Russian.
I have a very weak English

I hope you could cut off the dead bit and save the rest of the cactus.

This is a tough topic!
Cheers

Yes, I agree. The fact is that the time was lost!
Now, I think the chances of rescuing a cactus are very small - if think so positively.