Sort:  

I really like the idea of focussing these mini wikileaks type org's on specific geographical areas..

I resteemed this to help spread awareness for ya, but I have a few things I'm curious about.

I've also been working on a model for a decentralized wikileaks alternative to be deployed on the @steemleak account and the main obstacles I'm seeing are:

  • Actual anonymous submissions - you "guarrantee" to keep identities anonymous, but then you only accept via an unencrypted gmail account. I'm not sure if I need to spell out the problems with that, if I do then I doubt you're ready for this project tbh.

I was already thinking the "securedrop" software being pushed by wikileaks wasn't really secure since it's reliant on tor ... And tor isn't magic, it's vulnerable to many de-anonymization attacks (especially versus state level actors/resources)

  • You claim that info/docs will be scrutinized by experiences journalists and lawyers before release. How do you plan to keep these people onboard and honest (ie: not withholding true leaks or allowing personal bias to affect decisions on what I assume would be an volunteer position)

  • How do you plan to handle file hosting ? Whilst the steem blockchain is great for text data, incentivizing large file hosting for potentially illegal material (in some jurisdictions) is a tricky problem.

I do feel there is a definite need for more alternatives to wikileaks - but I want to be sure they're not just honeypots, or being run insecurely and putting good people in potentially serious risk.

I'm available on steemit.chat and steemspeak discord almost 24/7 if you ever wanna brainstorm this :)

Thanks AusBitBank. I completely agree.
In terms of the anonymous guarantee, I do believe that I should implement PGP encryption.
I have a network of journalists and journalism advisors in my city that I plan to call on when the time arises.
I am taking it on a case-by-case basis.
I will find you on steemit.chat for sure.

PGP is a must, but still wouldn't do anything to protect the identity of the sender - only the contents of the message. Best of luck with this either way :)

I hope that some more whistleblowers are emboldened to come forward.
The public has been kept in the dark on so many important things.

well, it's a good article! if just common sense. many issues have arisen with the calgary police service. make no mistake the city is a cash cow from the parking to the police to the transit system and the way it's all been engineered so that no matter what you do you always end up paying a small fortune to leave your dwelling and be a part of the city.
by far less than impressive as an overall issue of point of discussion is the fact that the motor vehicles branch stopped issuing notices for drivers licence renewal to calgary residents and as a result innocent people who were not informed of when their licence is supposed to be renewed are getting three hundred dollar fines and being forced to stand for hours in lineups at the courts. just my 2 steemit cents here.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.