You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTE: New information changes everything. Do not vote on the other post.Announcing the Steem-based IPO of Calibrae. UPDATE: see new post that uses vote counts

in #calibrae7 years ago (edited)

Big thanks for the donation, it will make it so I can easily pay my next 3 months rent (€450). On wednesday I finally will have a Net1 55mbit connection hooked up, so I will have less hassles with dealing with upping and downing necessary large files. I have the snapshot I will be drawing data from and later today I will have a steemd instance running on my computer and start adding the list of usernames the migration script will use.

I don't regret being somewhat inflammatory in the terminal phase of my discontent at the situation with Steemit, Inc, I had been raising these issues since November last year, when I started dealing with steemd and its problems were obvious to me back then. I had been, since almost the beginning, making posts with improvement suggestions, and almost none of them have been adopted. So I had reason to be angry.

But I have now moved on from this. The sense of ownership I got when I finally made the fork repository, was like a chilled carafe of the sweetest springwater after two days in a desert at 40 degrees. I am feeling very upbeat and happy about what is happening now, and as I work through and refine my management and PR strategies, it is moving from palateable to delicious very quickly, and everyone is giving me so much joy with their enthusiasm for the project.

Note that the fork, and the consensus rule changes and token changes, are just the beginning.

Once Calibrae goes live, I will be shifting from managing the rollout of the fork, towards building go-calibrae, which is going to be a full reimplementation based on SporeDB, which throws out most of the outdated, and inefficient canon of block log format replication, and will use far more efficient, low latency validation and replication algorithms. In theory, go-calibrae will have a sub 1 second transaction clearance time, for one thing.

The other thing that is a central to go-calibrae is that the codebase itself will become a vote-monetising scheme for funding development. It will operate like github or gitlab, but with a decentralised architecture, and this is where I developed first the idea of making reputation scores, specific, in this case, to the code repository, as a coefficient to mitigate abusive voting, and this concept will also have a massive effect on shutting down the explosion of bots on this platform, that is part of how the chain has grown so goddamned fast in the last two months.

I hope that this serious threat to their userbase does drive Steemit towards upping their game, but they are so far behind the 8-ball that it's not gonna be fun for them, for quite some time. I don't have a huge amount of stake in Steem, but for what it can do for my day to day existence, it is very big, especially if Steemit was managing the platform well. I might be a little minnow again, in terms of my Steem Power, but in Bulgaria, this small stake is enough to cover 6 months rent and utilities bills, even at today's price. So it's not a small thing to me, and that's why I make such a big deal about it. Their mismanagement is threatening to lead me back onto the street, a place I do not want to return to, especially not with autumn just around the corner. Last winter was brutal, -15°C - it is only on account of the community spirit of the Bulgarian people that it was not as bad as it could have been.

Your donation is a really big deal to me, and I am extremely grateful for it. I will do my best to make it work for you as well.

Yes, we are getting serious offers, I now have someone talking about fielding developers and developing funding schema to pay the developers for their work, and as such, I have set up https://github.com/calibrae-project organisation, and a team: https://github.com/orgs/calibrae-project/teams so that interested people can request to join the team and get to work on the many tasks that lay ahead of us. There is now also a chatroom that you can join, at https://discord.gg/AmyB6ee.