The Old Dog Discovers: Look What Popped Up On My Job Today!

in #camping7 years ago (edited)

Once in a While We See Something That Makes Us Instinctively Say:

  • Why didn't I think of that! Or....
  • That looks like fun! Or perhaps....
  • What a practical design! And finally the dreaded...
  • I wouldn't mind having one of those!

Today when I arrived at my customer's showroom I was greeted by this nifty pop up roof rack tent! 

I love camping and I've done a lot of it deep in the Canadian wilderness on remote lakes that could only be accessed via portaging! This, of course, was very different but very, very cool!


This shot is from the suppliers web-site: AutoHome and it shows all of the pertinent stats!



 

No it wasn't the Mini that was attracting me (I'm no piston head!) but just the tent!

What Are The Advantages of This Type of Tent?

  • It keeps you up off of the ground providing some security and protection from various beasts!
  • It provides an elevated view point!
  • No need to look for softer ground either for comfort or for driving in tent pins!
  • Quick and easy to set up!
  • Space saving!

What Are The Disadvantages of This Style of Tent?

  • If your an over 40 male like me those calls of nature get a little harder to respond to!
  • Of course, this tent is not suitable for a campsite that needs to be hiked to!
  • They are not cheap. The one pictured is a top of the line model. To see others click here!

Here Are a Few More Shots of This Nifty Little Tent!


Can you picture yourself pulling up to a lake somewhere and popping up this little home?



This compact beauty has plenty of ventilation and is very well built!



Doesn't it look comfy? There's a nice thick mattress in there to make sure of that!

Here is a Review Other Car Roof Tents!

8 Terrific Roof Top Tents That Make Camping a Breeze From Popularmechanics.com

What Do You Think?

  • Do you find this design interesting?
  • Do you think that it would be fun to try it?
  • Are you a camper?
  • Would you like to become one?

I hope that you enjoyed this article about "What Popped up on my Job Today!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will upvote it with some of my 40,000 plus Steem Power! 

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great design...I'm up for it...!!

Ok let's give it a try!

I honestly looked at the mini first :)
mini fan here haha
cause .. design!
yes yes design is always pretty catchy - specifically good design!

not a camper but if it's like this maybe .. just maybe I'd give it a try

I like the possibility to move wtih something you may sleep in and that you can prepare in a blink! Something like... a turtle

You're right...like a turtle!

Interesting concept. I love to camp, but around here many who camp also get drunk, so that ladder may be a hazard lol

Yes I remember those days as I was young and foolish once. If you pull the ladder inside it might keep you safe from the drunks!

Yea, maybe. It certainly provides more protection than a tent on the ground would.

Hi @kus-knee, this is really an amazing outdoor or better said camping gear 😉 I actually saw it about a year ago at a travel event and am still considering to buy one within the next years for a roadtrip through europe. It's just the pocket money that's missing for the whole trip 😂

I know what you mean about pocket money! Good thing we have Steemit for that now!

Well I´m still trying to get some real Pocket money through Steemit :D You´re rather there already ;) But I won´t give up and will hopefully reach my goal to travel the world through Steemit :)

I'm gonna use that tent for my imagined funeral parlor business. It looks like an improvised hearse!

Wow, what a great business mind you've got!

Another very unique post dear brother. I would like to have one for me.

Q: Do you find this design interesting?
A: Very interesting and never thought about it before.

Q: Do you think that it would be fun to try it?
A: Of course, it would be a lot of fun.

Q: Are you a camper?
A: No

Q: Would you like to become one?
A: I am desperate to become a camper. Especially when you living in Canada life has no meaning without camping.

Hey man. I could teach you! I grew up doing it and have traveled to Canada several times to show my son! It's a great bonding experience with your kids.

Yes! I have recently been going hiking and getting outdoors more and more with my family. it promotes well beaing and a great bonding exp with your family. Clears your heard and helps your brain power down from being connected to the internet so much too!

Upvoted and followed ya, good content that is engaging :)

Thanks a lot dear brother. I am planning a trip this summer:))

This is so amazing really :) I would love to have one of these in my life.
And the great thing is that it fits on a freaking mini man! FREAKING MINI.
Cheers for sharing this. I will look in finding one of them to buy for myself in the future :)

I love it too!

I've never seen anything like this.

Me neither but they've been around for a long time!

There is for bike? I don't have a car! Nice post Old Dog!(;

You need to use the old style tent and congrats for not having a car!

What a brilliant idea, excellent for people who travel a lot :)

Yes, I'd love to try it out!

Never heard of car-roof tents before and this one looks so beautiful. Is it possible to enjoy a ride around some lake (at a slow speed, of course) while being in these tents?

To me, it's some novelty I'd not like to go for. I like to be more grounded 😉. Being on ground even in the wild is more adventurous, isn't it? And a tent on a car doesn't seem natural to me. When in nature, be in nature ...as much as possible.

I don' think I'd be in it while the car is moving! I usually canoe and hike into the wilderness so this type of tent would not be an option but in a pinch...

You can take your mother in law with you on holiday ,......... on the way she could have a good rest,...... sleepy , sleepy,....

Thanks for the video. I had a look...cool!

thanks to the @kus-knee hf19 version =D
your good on photography too

You remember me! Nice! Your the 100,000 follower man. Right?

@gwapology got you a $0.01 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@gwapology got you a $0.01 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Très bon article.

Cette idée est génial elle pourrait aider plusieurs personnes qui n'ont pas de caravanes ou autre .

Merci

Merci beau-coup!

Ça me fait plaisir de recevoir des remerciements par vous .

Merci

Awesome idea :) I'd love one of these tents. I've slept in a swag on the back of a ute a few times and it's great being off the floor, seems more convenient too.

Yes it would be fun to at least try it!

Done! :) nice article! nice nice nice!
Resteeming now. :)

You are very kind!!!

Im kind to those who are kind to me. Thank you!

Great design and creativity. :)

I love it! It's like a little house over the car! (wait! "little house over the car". I should develope this idea! :D)

That's your wife's area. "Tiny Freaky House Over The Car"!

Maybe it will be in the next series of the tiny freaky house :D

Let's hope so!

she projects, I build :D

this is a good idea but I think it is better make your own than to buy one. as what you said they are not cheap.

If you are handy you could try and make one. That would give a lot of self satisfaction!

That's a pretty cool tent. Would be good for long road trips and just pull over somewhere quiet.

I was thinking that too. A great place to sleep in a pinch!

that is fabulous ! My son would love it !!! 👍👍👍Resteemed !!

Hahaha yes for sure !! 👍👍👍😂

It would be fun!

Make sure your car's shock absorbers are strong... You never know when Old dog gets lucky for threesome on top of foursome :)

I'm a big guy!

What a cool little roof tent! We are currently saving for a motorhome for full time touring so wouldn't suit us but I can totally see how this would be perfect for some!

Wow, a motor home! Id like to try that too!

We are planning to go full time:) since we work online and have no set place of work and no kids we feel it is right for us, 50k to buy!! ouch..but then there is no council tax, no mortgage to be tied into, just a life on the road going where the wind takes us:) in about three years time I will be making a post giving the tour of our new home on wheels.

Very interesting! I had never even considered that something like that would be created! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by @papa-pepper!

Amazing! Beautifully done! WOW!

Autohome good idea, we can save a lot of money while we enjoy with nature

That sounds like a good plan!

That's really cool idea. Hope that scale won't break :D

The one for the Mini looks very well made but then again I am a Big guy!

mini won't fit you then :P and me neither

Glamping at it's finest. Looks super convenient if you're going to be roadtripping ! I prefer hammock sleeping though for actual camping.

I'd love to see a picture of your set-up!

Yeah, next time I get it up I'll definitely snap a pic! Not sure if I have any on hand

@kus-knee,
That would be an amazing travel isn't it! Thank you very much for sharing those experience with us! Great article!

And I am upvoted this post too friend~

Cheers~

If it won't suddenly fall and huge enough then i'm fine!))

Yes, if it fell that could get interesting!

Nice that's pretty neat. I had seen something similar before but it wasn't quite as well built as this one. I do love camping, and Canada sure has amazing camping spots. I don't really think that would be useful for me as I also like to do back-country camping where I carry my equipment with me. However I can see how it would be useful if you were going on a cross-country roadtrip to pull-up somewhere every night and hop in your roof-top tent =D

I'm glad to meet another camper!

I dont know for some reason I like the regular tends more, but cant explain why.

Each has its place. I love going deep into the wilderness so for that I need a "normal" tent!

I think this tent is great when getting into a wilderness with animals that are somehow a bit dangerous to humans. In the Netherlands we do not have the problem of dangerous animals in our forrest other than the occasional escaped animal from some zoo (recently some tiger broke loose). I'm not so much into camping, but the interesting fact is that I recently rented a space at a new to be build camping. Never thought I would do this, but with a group of friends we decided the rent a whole area. Now I;m in search for some unique tent, camping house to build on it. I think this mobile tents are not what I'm looking for though :) I wish you great pleasure with camping and certainly a rooftop tent seems to be an interesting way to keep yourself save, maybe also save from bugs, ants etc. Enjoy!

Wow you're going to become a camper. Nice! You should have fun with your friends at the new site!

Thank you. Well I love this one, but with one of those you can hardly call me a camper :)

Is that what you're putting there? Beautiful!

I wish! :) This tent cost an amazing amount of $/Euro. Need to Steem a bit more to be able to buy it. But I would like something like that indeed. There must be less expensive options. But it could also become something like a brother Grimm hut :) Will take some time to figure out what it'll gonna be.

@kus-knee tent on the car... haha that's brilliant!!! I usually traveling with a tent and sometimes also with car and tent so this is great option for me :P
If you have a minute please check my new story about Multimedia Fountain Park in Warsaw, the capital of Poland. I'm sure you will like it!
All the best :)

I'm glad that you found it interesting!

Wow, that's an accessory I never thought about! Looks like a terrific idea. Kids might enjoy it even more :)

You're right. I'm suer that the kids would LOVE it!

I love this design! I've actually seen something like that in person long ago and I remember that I loved the idea then. I still love it now.

Looks really practical and easy to work with. I also love the elevated view point.

But my dog would hate it as he would not be able to climb in or get out whenever he wanted. But the elevated view point will be very good for barking up the area ;)

It would be really cool and fun to try but you're right about the dog. I'm sure that a cat could climb the ladder.

It's a classical impasse because the dogs would love camping but wouldn't be able to climb up to the sleeping quarters and cats could easily climb up there even without the ladder (which I can prove with countless nail-scratches on my car already) but they tend to be attached to the place where they live and would rather not come along camping and would probably find it quite stressful.

Non mi convince proprio per nulla questa soluzione.....Mi ricorda una cuccia per cani! Non riuscirei a dormire...meglio un bel sacco a pelo!

Perhaps you've never slept in the Canadian Wilderness but in theory I agree!

Love it! I would definitely camp in one of these :) What an interesting design too, never seen a tent like this.

You could try it out on your land!

Good idea! :)

@kus-knee upvoted keep your great job bro :)

Thanks so much!

This is really cool. Out of curiosity, what does one of these things run?

The prices are in the links.

1st thing that popped in my mind was actually: "Why the heck didn't i think of that?!?"
You definitely got that right mr @kus-knee. :D

I dig that tent. It offers a wonderful view. I just hope it comes with a portable toilet for "emergency" situations. ٩ʕ•͡וʔ۶

Much love from the Philippines!
Keep on Steemin'! :)

(you got a new follower, worthy for an upvote, and will definitely be resteemed. (~‾▿‾)~ )

Another Philipino member. I love it! Contact @surpassinggoogle!

Yeah! It's "Filipino" btw. :)
Is the tent avaible here in the Philippines? ^_^

And i will contact @surpassinggoogle asap :D

Cool and interesting - Made in Switzerland? If yes it is for sure high quality.

I am sure for my little one it would be fun to try it - my knees would probably doable me to have fun on my own. I used to be a caper in my young years.

Your little girl would have a blast!

She sure would!

The tent definitely spiked my curiosity for sure. When I was younger, we used to sleep on the cabin of the old pickup truck. Seeing this picture reminded me of the days we "camped" on top of truck.

Yes I've done that too and slept inside of trucks. It gets very damp inside though.

For people who have known what camping is, this is an extraordinary idea, far from those that can become a danger when camping in the soil, rodents, viboras, spiders. Really really good idea.
When my children were small it was very common to go on holiday in tent, thank you dear friend, these images brought me beautiful memories.
I wish you a happy day surrounded by family and friends

Thanks so much @jlufer! All the best to you too!

Astonishing! I would love one, but I'm not sure since it seems small to fit a family of four.

For sure it's too small for 4 but in the video thee are other models to suit other needs!

Its awesome cool tent @kus-knee. I wished to have the same one too...so that i could be able to enjoy the natural beauty in my own way.

Wow Very Innovative
Goodluck

Yes it really is!

For those over 40 males, a chamber pot might come in handy. The plastic milk jug being the modern equivlient lol

Yes well maybe I'd gross out my significant other!

There are 2 pages
Pages