The Battle I didn't Choose. Fighting the BIG C. - Part II

in #cancer7 years ago

Hey Y'all! For those who are wondering why I've been MIA for the past few weeks. Is that, it's not just because I went to Indonesia but I was also scheduled to have a body scan for this year.

21269548_1969915836625994_1915388333_n.jpg

"Sorry for the photo, but I have to wake-up early to prepare myself for this procedure hehe!"

I disconnected myself to social media world! And I want to take this opportunity to have a week off to pamper myself and have some me time. Why?!, Because, one of the routine when you get a body scan is that you are required to have a little amount of RAI or Radiation Iodine.

So what is a radiation iodine?. It's one of the process wherein they will give you a certain amount of radiation in oral capsule form or thru IV. Well, in my case thankfully they gave me the capsule form. FYI, Radioactive iodine only affects your thyroid gland.

Preparation:

21268571_1969915839959327_982884990_n.jpg

I have to take the RAI a day before the body scan itself and I have to follow all the protocols because once I take the RAI. I will become radioactive and I'm not allowed to stay or to be around with children and elderly people for like 7 days.

How it works?:

As I said, Radioactive iodine only affects your thyroid gland. The thyroid cells in your body will absorb the iodine. They said that only 90% of patients only need a single dose and it take like around 6 months to fully destroys all or part of the thyroid.

How it feels like?:

For the moment I took the medicine. I instantly felt again, the metallic taste in my mouth. As you all know this isn't the first time that I went all through this. The first time was the worst because that was my radiation therapy and I took like around 100mg of RAI. I had to stay in the hospital for 5 days and I was isolated from the world in a room covered in special plastics. Having said that, this time I was only required to take 5mg of RAI. I know it's not a lot, but you can still feel the side effects and aftermath once you take the oral capsule. I didn't feel nauseous unlike the first two I had before but because of the metallic taste sometimes I feel like vomiting or I feel like I have upset stomach. This side effects lasted for 3 to 4 days and I hate the feeling that I can't enjoy any type of food I eat.

What to expect?:

ct-scan-machine-medical-imaging.jpg

"This how it looks like. Thanks GOOOGLE for the sample photo!"

The whole procedure is divided into 2 days and one procedure last for like 1 hour or so. You have to lay still inside the machine and you are not allowed to move for straight one hour or more. Yes, that sounds challenging, but for me, I kinda fell asleep during the process.

My Body Scan Result:

I got the result 2 days after and I have to wait for another 1 day for my check-up with my Endocrinologist.
I'm so grateful that there's no metastasis and I am 100% CANCER FREE!!! Though, I still have to take my medicine for a lifetime. I'm still thankful that I am free of all the negativity that The Big C had brought into my life. I just have to continue pursuing a healthy lifestyle.

That'll be all for now everyone. Thank you for all your kind words on my first blog. Virtual Hugs to all of you Steemians!

If you want to read My 1st Blog: https://steemit.com/cancer/@hellolylo/the-battle-i-didn-t-choose-fighting-the-big-c

DQmXSX1tN2u6KAcSYyoUEichNK46yirTnyvDqyAUiH7rhKA_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @hellolylo! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Stay positive! :)

I will! Thank you :)

Wow, I didn't knew there are medicined which can make you radioactive. Get well soon! 😊

sounds interesting right hahaha

Praise God! I love happy endings and had to resteem this. Prayers for great health and long life!
Peace.

Aw Thank you so much. Your kind words never fail to put a smile on my face :)

It's the least I am blessed to do, considering all the helpful tips you share with others.
Peace!

Go girl go. You are a winner, you will easily defeat cancer. Just have faith in yourself.

Thank you :) Followed you!

You've won againsts cancer!!! Wow!

Yes! 🙌🏻 Thank you for dropping by! Followed you 😊

Thanks for the followback! 😊

Hello there and welcome, I am also new on this site like you, follow me @sacraf and vote together we can succeed Good luck
protect your heart

Followed!

I just want to congratulate you on your positive attitude and your winning fight against cancer. All the best to you!

Hey! Thank you for your kind words!

Stay positive! keep strong girl! 😉

I'll will keep that in mind :)

Those things are loud.
Welcome I like your post here is my introduce myself post. https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@isteemithard/introducing-myself-isteemithard-now-introduce-yourself
GOPR0071.JPG

I'm so glad that you are cancer free!! I wish you all the best, and that therapy that you need to use for lifetime, not big deal. I wish that I can hear something same for 3 weeks. I have something on brain, but it's hard living with that...i just want to start my treatment, no matter what. Waiting is killing me. But your post gave me some strength and positive thoughts, and I'm so thankful for that! Wish you all the best. <3

Hello there! Just be positive and live your life to the fullest! Be strong sweetie we can do it. Don't forget to try your best to live a healthy lifestyle and have a positive outlook in life! Hugs!!!

Thank you. I do that all the time, at least sometimes I am just trying. I have my breakdowns but that I do my best to get better. You are such a nice and kind girl! :)

Sending you wishes of good health!

Thank you for this!