You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The consciosuness of cancer-illness, breast-cancer in particular, and how to heal yourself.

in #cancer6 years ago (edited)

I am deeply uncomfortable with this. My father is struggling thrpugh cancer at the moment. He has never had an unresolved issue with anyone.. he talks it through honestly and openly. He has the enviable position of having resolved so many of his life issues. He is a yogi, a meditator, a surfer, a vegetarian. He is deeply in tune with his body. He is positive, always, kind, compassionate and caring. Sometimes cancer just happens. Its horrible to suggest a persons emotions might be to blame or anything they have done personally. As he lies in hospital on a drip with an infection because his white blood cells are non existant and he has awful diarrahoea, am I meant to tell him 'hey dad, love yourself and choose health'???? I think you have to be careful about generalisations and advice that is quite superficial. And am i meant to fear that everytime I have repressed emotionally, i might get breast cancer?

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment. It's important, for others as well, to read different views.
It's impossible for me to relate specifically to your dad's situation without knowing the circumstances of his life. I do wish him a quick and complete healing!
In general though, I would say that I have seen many cases in which kind, human-loving, people became ill, with cancer or other similarly grave illnesses. The common denominator for those people are their dedication to the world, to other people, on their expense!
It's almost impossible to tell someone that they better put themselves in first place, make their own life first priority. They would regard such approach as selfishness. The sad fact, though, is that many very good people are forgetting themselves while trying to save others.
This is what I mean when I write "self love".

Self healing is part of our natural ability. I know it's too simple or too good to be true and many people, like you in your comment, would find this to be absurd or unbelievable. Still, the body has the ability to heal itself. Even from cancer, yes. True, it takes more than repeated mantras; a genuine reorientatition of the mind is needed here, a process which a suffering person in a hospital might find impossible to follow.

Lastly, when life are lived spontaneously there are natural healing mechanisms that override our most counter productive behaviors. That is to say that even if you repress all your anger, fears, worries and such, there are ways for your body and mind to clear them regardless. Living life of self expression without self judgment is advisable not because the fear of having breast cancer but because it's more in line with the natural expression of your soul-self.

Thank you.🙏

I agree that self healing is possible.. absolutely. I never thought it was absurd, but that your post was a little simplistic as cancer is far more complex than that. I also agree that many views are good.However I dont think any of your suggestions fits Dad or his cancer. I think people also need to realise that sometimes these things just happen and they arent to blame for it. Dad has many self healing systems in place. However to simple suggest that self love and positivity is the only way forward is also too simplistic. I appreciate your reply.

Take note that never have I said "only way".
Blessings.

💗💗💗