Unda the brave warrior

in #cancer6 years ago

My stepson, Kerry, passed away on November 2nd 2017 due to cancer. Kerry has suffered so much for most of his life. About 20 years ago he was diagnosed with a serious illness which left him in the hospital for over four months and suffered from seizures all his life. Kerry was a "desert rat"! He lived in the desert and loved riding his dune buggy. He was a loner and was a very stubborn man. If things did not go his way he made sure it went his way! He was a very creative person and managed to survive without a job. He was also very handy. He could fix almost anything, computers, plumbing, electrical, and was very handy with his hands.

A week after he passed his friends had a "desert memorial" at a canyon that Kerry discovered and loved. His friends went out of their way to make the event a very emotional and a very therapeutic occasion. They made a cross, made of steel, which weighed about 70 lbs (see image below) and permanently cemented it on a boulder in the canyon and the cross read "Unda"! That was his nickname. At the moment I am creating a website which will be completed in a couple of weeks. This website (www.undamerchandise.com) I wish to dedicate to Kerry and when I reach a certain sales target I will donate a portion of my sales to St. Jude Hospital in Los Angeles. St. Jude is doing so much to find a cure for cancer and have helped hundreds maybe even thousands of children who suffer from this horrible disease. Sadly, my husband has also been diagnosed with cancer and fortunately, his doctors are watching him very carefully and taking good care of him. So many lives have been lost, from this terrible disease, and I want to help the doctors and researchers continue their important and vital work and this is the only way I can by creating a website selling merchandise.

Unda memorial 3.JPG

Sort:  

I'm so sorry you lost him so soon.