TIFO=Tootsie Roll

in #candy6 years ago

This is a candy that many kids are familiar with. One, I think, that still winds up in bags when going trick or treating at Halloween. Today I found out that they were invented by Leo Hirschfeld in 1896. He named it after his daughter, Clara's nickname, Tootsie. During WWII tootsie rolls were added to every soldiers rations. Because it could hold up in a variety of weather conditions. It was also the first one cent candy to be individually wrapped. It was the most popular candy during the Depression because of it's low cost. These are the chocolate ones I'm referring to. They also come in vanilla, lemon, lime, orange & cherry.

Sort:  

You have such great ideas for posts! Love it!! ♡

Thanks for saying so. I'm inquisitive by nature. I love to learn about & understand, pretty much, everything. Sometimes I'm intentionally looking information up. Other times, I stumble across something new while reading, watching a show/film, having a conversation, etc.