100% cannabis cigars - cannagars (and how to make them)

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Below are some of my hand crafted cannabis cigars, I will be giving a brief history on cannagars, and an introduction into making your own.

IMG_20180104_120227_049 (1).jpg

Thai sticks were the original cannabis cigar, originating in the 1970s in Thailand, they were made by binding Cannabis flowers to bamboo skewers, dipping them in opium, and using the cannabis fan leaves to seal it together. Thai sticks first came to the US with seamen who wanted to share the luxury with friends at home. In addition to the opium filled Thai sticks it was also common practice to skewers cannabis flowers/buds and wrap them to form a cylindrical core. You then take cannabis fan leaves and wrap them together adding addition cannabis flower to fill in the gaps. The first method allowed the Thai stick to be smoked as a cigar, while the second method you have to break off chunks and load them into a pipe to smoke.

20171223_202853.jpg

Cannagars are traditionally made in cannabis cigar molds. Packing cannabis flowers into these molds makes the cannabis bind together forming a cannagar “core”. This allows for a perfectly symmetrical cannagar and a consistent destiny for an even burn and slow smoke. After letting the mold rest for 2 days the cannabis cigar is ready to be rolled. I personally use fresh leaves and bind them together individually with melted THC oil. You have to melt your oil genitally, or else the terpene structures will be damaged, as they are very temperature sensitive. After the leaves are bound together it is time to release the cores from the mold and roll. The finished cannabis cigar will need to be bound in hemp string for 1 day while it dries, and then a 2 week cure to release chlorophyll.

IMG_20180103_115235_255.jpg

After a 1 month cure they are ready to be sealed. I'll post a video of these wax dips, it looks super cool on a time lapse!

I'm trying to get away from traditional social media for a plethora of reasons, but if you would like to find me on any other platform my username is EverythingCannagar.

This has been my first post to steemit, I gotta say already I can tell more information will be shared here than on say youtube or instagram, simply because the input is allowed to be in this form rather than an image or video with a caption. I look forward to hearing feedback!

Thank you forreading!

Joshua hamilton

-EverythingCannagar

Sort:  

Let me know what type of content you guys like on here, I have a bunch of cannabis related content and DIYs

Beautiful buds and really cool idea. I haven't heard of these but they look great. These high quality products are what we need ensure don't get lost in mass adoption.

Thank you! That is home grown Oregon raspberry and Obama. The bud marks the strain of flower and oil used! They have a pretty interesting history but haven't been too easy to find xD

Welcome to steem.

Thank you!

Welcome to the only social media I’ve ever felt like doing :) I have smoked a few cannagars with friends here in wa state in the past few years. They are pretty great :) we tried to cool down the hits by sticking a stem in the hole so you can hit them a little harder. Very cool to see your process

Thank you :) I noticed WA has quite a few cannagars (I see them on Instagram a lot) that's cool you've tried one, it's such a fun experience plus it burns for hours so it's kind of an occasion haha

Damned! Oregon? I'm from Potland Oregon! Let's blaze man! Voting sharing and following! Blaze it!

yea buddy! I am hosting a cannagar session in Beaverton Oregon on the 14th this month, so a smooth week away, private message me a phone number or something so I can give you more information. I'm always trying to connect with people in the industry and you sounds knowledgeable! Crazy I found someone on steem so close to me haha

There ain't a private message here... But yeahlocal people is where it is at!

I’ve always wanted to do this! Looks amazing...

Thank you! I'll be posting on here regularly and I post DIY's pretty often so stay tuned! FYI: my profile picture was white like yours until I just found out how to fix it, you gotta right click a photo you have uploaded on say, facebook, and click "copy photo address" instead of copy link address. and paste that URL into the section in settings. Good luck & thanks again :)

I don't smoke any more but this is awesome, imma have to follow your badass.

Thank you buddy! I'm gonna be uploading almost everyday so stay tuned!

These look awesome may have to try making one

Do it! I made my first one only 2 months ago. It's fun and smoking your own creation adds a level of enjoyment. Check out everythingcannagar.com to see more DIYs or just stay tuned here, I'm going to be adding all my content and making more to upload on here!

And tyour 2 week cure to "release '' the chlorophyll, isn't true. But with the added 4 week cure.... It takes 6 weeks for the chlorophyll to degrade. So you are actually achieving the total cure time. Nice work!

thank you for the info! I actually just put 4 cannagars in a humidor to sample them in a few months because I want to experiment with longer cures. I usually use yellow leaves with small amounts of chlorophyll but those leaves aren't always available. I did this for flower and took one jar up to a a year. Oh my goodness. it was delicious. I'm excited to try these ones out.

I work Monday through Friday in beaverton. Let me know and let's blaze!

add me on instagram if you have it. So I can DM you

@everythingcannagar

I don't have Instagram but let me know where your Workshop is going to be at I would definitely love to check it out

That's the coolest thing I've seen in a long time! lol
Wtf.. Awesome!!!

Thanks buddy! I appreciate it :)

Those look incredible.

I hope you don't mind, I shared your post on @transientflowers Discord https://discord.gg/3K5kfUQ

Absolutely not, I am here to share info! Thank you:)

🌟 You've been Upvoted & ReSteemed by our Cannabis Curation Team!🌟

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Join our Team on Discord.
Upvote this comment
Follow @transientflowers
Vote for Original Cannabis Content -Inside Discord.
Help to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!

For this week's Cannabis Curation Newsletter click HERE
It's new every Saturday night. Did you make the cut?


Welcome to Steemit!

I can already see you will be a benefit to the community. This was VERY well written and those pictures are AWESOME. I've never seen one of those works of art before. 😍

If you have questions about formatting or anything, let me know. You can find me in Discord OR tag me here OR @carrieallen (that's the real me). 😎

Thank you! I definitely will take you up on that. I'll make a discord soon to as well!

Also, if you're artsy... I'm running a contest right now. You may wanna enter. 😀
💥CONTEST! 🤑 WIN SBD! 🤑💥.
Deadline is Friday.
Show me your skills!

I more of a vaper but I wish I could try one....and cool patterns

Do you sell these?