Using Cannabis For Medical Reasons

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

If you had told me 10 years ago that I would be using cannabis to treat a medical condition I would have laughed in your face and probably being a bit offended. You see I have always been against 'drugs' and 10 years ago I was as fit as a fiddle. If someone had tried to tell me that cannabis could be used as medicine I wouldn't have been interested and wouldn't have listened.

Then 3 years ago I got struck down with the most agonising abdominal pain, went to the doctors they said it was IBS. The pains got worse, I was constipated and couldn't get up in the morning even to go to work some days its was that bad. The hospital were now investigating which meant cameras been put in unspeakable places.

While all this was going on I had friend living with me that was a heavy cannabis user and out of desperation and the millionth time he had told me it would make feel better I tried it. I sat there and smoked about 3 joints with him before I passed out and I can honestly it was the best nights sleep I had had in a long time. So from then I started to use cannabis every now and then when the pain got really bad. 

After a year of all this I was finally diagnosed with Diverticulitis, which if you don't know is a bowel condition. One time I was taken extremely ill and admitted to hospital, the medication they gave me seemed to make me worse and made all my skin bubble up like blisters all over, after 4 days they were saying surgery was the only option. Oh Shit! That was it I called a friend of mine and told him I needed some weed and bless him he drove it to the hospital for me. Again that night I slept wonderfully and after 2 days of using cannabis, obviously without anyone knowing and rolling in the toilets, I was back home with no talk of any surgery.

From then on I have only used cannabis to treat my condition and in the last 2 years I have had no major flare ups that I couldn't recover from and had zero hospital visits. I can't believe I was so ignorant early on and dismissed cannabis, I also can't believe there are so many people out there suffering similar conditions and don't use it. Before I started using cannabis to treat this my quality of life was shocking, constant pain, constipated, no appetite, constant vomiting. Cannabis does the best job of anything I have tried of keeping these terrible symptoms under control.

My only problem now is weed is so damn expensive, although I have looked in to the idea of growing it. If you, for whatever reason are on the fence about cannabis then take it from me it really does work, do your research and live longer!  

Sort:  

cannabis is an amazing medication with so many health applications
welcome to steemit by the way.enjoy

Thanks, yes it really does, the medication I should be on is 3 different tablets 4 times a day and cannabis relieves all my symptoms in one.

yea i understand that

Congratulations @classified-ts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The first cannabis, then heroin for treatment