Cannabis Proves To Be More Effective Than Medication For Migraines

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

It's estimated that something around 13 percent of the adult US population suffers from migraines and for many of them they aren't able to find any remedy from common medications that get prescribed for the issue.

One possible solution for them might be cannabis.


Researchers suggest that cannabis might be more effective than common migraine medication like amitriptyline, according to a recent study. Their findings were recently presented at the Congress of the European Academy of Neurology that's in Amsterdam; it's an annually held neurology conference.

The study involved 79 participants who all suffered from migraines or cluster headaches. The participants consumed an oral dose of cannabis, specifically it was a drug containing THC and CBD and they consumed this every day for at least 3 months.

The researchers found that the cannabis was able to improve the headaches by roughly 40.4 percent.

And this is slightly better than what they found for the medication, which was around 40.1 percent improvement.


This isn't the first time that researchers have investigated the effects of cannabis on migraines, nor that they have suggested that it might be able to help such an issue. These new results further add to the growing evidence that cannabis can provide help for a myriad of different health issues, including things like migraines and headaches.

A number of the participants reported an improvement for not only their headaches and migraines, but they also found reduced muscle pain, fewer stomach aches, and an overall improvement in their health.

But not everyone reported positive side effects, some found that the cannabis made them drowsy and that it also made it difficult for them to concentrate.

For many who suffer with cluster headaches or migraines, they aren't able to find any help from common big pharma options out there for them.

And aside from that, some of the migraine medication is also very costly, with one option being around 8-20k per year. So not only could cannabis provide them with help physically but the option could also give them some much needed cost savings.


banner thanks to @son-of-satire

Pics:
Atomazul via Shutterstock
Pixabay

The information that is posted above is not intended or implied to ever be used as any substitute for professional medical advice, or diagnosis or treatment. The above is posted for informational purposes only.

Sources:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-4639922/Cannabis-help-treat-migraines-research-suggests.html
https://www.alphagalileo.org/ViewItem.aspx?ItemId=176729&CultureCode=en
http://migraineresearchfoundation.org/about-migraine/migraine-facts/
https://www.theverge.com/2016/5/24/11712554/migraine-drug-treatment-headache-cost-pharmaceutical-health-insurance

Related Posts:

Over 89,000 Sign Petition Urging DEA To Change Their Mind On Cannabis

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@doitvoluntarily/over-89-000-sign-petition-urging-dea-to-change-their-mind-on-cannabis

Big Pharma Funding Cannabis Opposition

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@doitvoluntarily/big-pharma-funding-cannabis-opposition

Drug Use And Human Rights

https://steemit.com/writing/@doitvoluntarily/drug-use-and-human-rights

Sort:  

It's more effective for just about everything.

what about memory ? is it better for memory ?

If you do some research it is better for your long term memory. Also help in preventing alzheimer.

Because of marijuana I stopped taking my antidepressant, bi-polar meds and sleeping pills several years back. As time goes on they just discover more and more benefits for total legalization.
I think it's time. Of course it's not legal in my state, but I've still got a couple of beauties growing right out in the open.
We smoke for free in this house.

Wow, I had the same results when I started to use cannabis. No longer need mood stabilizers for bi-polar and those meds are so toxic and scary. I'm lucky as it is legal in my state for medical use.

Cannabis makes the brain more powerfull, don't believe all the propaganda, if they're all against it, then it has to be good, KIND OF LIKE CRYPTOS :D
200_s (1).gif

Well, the government has also become anti-cigarettes. They have tonnes of ads about how bad it is to you. Does that make them good?

I suffer from nuerofibromatosis I have tumors on the optic nerves of my eyes. For 10 years I used marijuana as a way to treat my migraines. When I was a kid I use to end up in the hospital because they were so bad and they had to put me on morphine -which would just make me sick. Thank God for this plant. Because if it wasn't around my life would have been full of pain and a lot worse.

This is true. I know someone who has migraine and take weed as a medication. when he was a kid, he's being "attacked" by migraine almost every day. when he took weed, barely feel it up to the present. Sad to say, not all countries approve the use of this med.

Anyways, nice post!

nice post, i follow :)

Its a shame that with all the data and information provided about marijuana, that these municipalities and greedy corporations do everything in their power to criminalize and discredit it. I am so sick of 'the Man' always trying to hold us back. thanks for the post mate: information is power

Another great post. Thank you for getting this out there. I know there are a lot of people suffering from this condition and Cannabis is the only thing that helps. Anyone that is suffering and having a hard time accessing medicine I hope you can check out my blog. It may be of help. Upvoted and sharing this all over the place!

So cool post

Wow!! Nice post

thx! keep the news coming on this topics! 💚 it! upvoted+resteemed

even for children ?!!

Yes, children have and can take cannabis oil for medical purposes in some parts of the world.

Important information you have presented! I suffer from migraines and will dig deeper. Thank You for bringing this out in the open @doitvoluntarily

That is well known but big pharma companies try to reject that cannabis is a cure for many illnesses because it cuts their profits. Quality post! gonna follow and resteem you, hope you will return the favour. Cheers!

I mean, obviously!! :)

Of course cannabis is better lol

I just read your headlines but i agree 100%, I use it all the time, its like the only thing that works. Clear the hell outta my sinus too.

i need it :)

Interesting post, may be useful and a place to share ... good luck.

Hi Mate,

if you copy the code below and you replace all [ and ] with < and > and you paste your image source where the XXX is your image will be clickable :D

Cheers

[center][a href="https://steemit.com/@doitvoluntarily"][img src="xxx"/][/a][/center][center]Made by - @son-of-satire[/center]

Im curious now.. which effects would decrease the pain.

Maybe just because of the fact that it relaxes people?

apparently relaxing is the side effect of what is really happening. So relaxing I dont think does the trick though it sure helps

It is for Me.

I tried both, I feel better when I Smoke some weed.

It is not as quick but eating something containing the oil is healthier, I say this just in case you might be interested :D

and not only migraines! it aids many ailments across the board

Apparently gets rid of the stress, anxiety, etc. like BOOM, right away

Cannabis is much better than most people think. I'd choose cannabis over alcohol, but the majority would choose alcohol since it's "not a drug"...

This looks beautiful and properly flushed.

@doitvoluntarily

nice info you shared here on cannabis. i wish government will see the health benefit of this wonder herb and find best ways people can you it without such clampdown...

cannabis for me helps improve bad mood a lot and helps one for better sex and sleep...I am a testimony...;)

keep up the good work my deal...

Having suffered from migraines since I was 18 (now in my 60's) I can vouch for the efficacy of cannabis for all types of headaches. The trick I have found with migraines is that you need to use it as soon as you feel the symptoms. Most of my headaches are immediately knocked out with cannabis but migraines are not so easy to get rid of. Took me a few months to learn the "take it as soon as you feel the symptoms" trick but it works for me.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $130.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It does wonders for my epilepsy!

Good post! I agree totally with the sentiments, although I would query if the difference in efficacy is statistically significant. One has to take into account margin of error. I haven't looked at the research paper, so what I'm saying may not be applicable here.

Countless individuals suffer from migraines! They should recognize that if something could help, then it needs to be available to those who are suffering from the debilitating condition!

@doitvoluntarily

Congratulations @doitvoluntarily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great content! I'm learning something new everyday!! Keep On Steemin On!!

I totally agree with this. I have been writing a lot of articles for Medical Marijuana and a lot of health benefits arise from the research they conduct. If only it can be given proper manufacturing and distribution, this herb, would be really helpful to people.