cannabis garden update - Steem OG female pollen and seeds

in #cannabis4 years ago

My 4 large adult cannabis plants are 96 days old, and in the middle of their flowering phase: 3 MK Ultra females and 1 Steem OG hermaphrodite female.

Steem OG, lower flower, showing both active pistils and seeded calyxes. S3 is pregnant!

Zooming out to show that whole flower node:

Notice the orange/brown pistils ("hairs")? They correspond to the seeded (fertilized) calyxes. Active (unpollinated) pistils remain white and outstretched, always searching for pollen. Normally, as medicine gardeners, our goal is to avoid that from happening, since the more energy a plant puts into seeds, the less it puts into cannabinoids.

There's that whole branch, which is 1/4 of the plant. Notice its top nug also has some dark pistils and swollen calyxes. I'll be getting some Steem OG seeds in my buds.

A better look at that partially-fertilized top bud. Here's another angle:

Some of the pollen responsible is indeed coming from this plant's hermaphroditic parts, but before I knew that would happen, I also purposely pollinated some of it with male pollen from S5.

In other words, some of the seeds in my Steem OG buds are going to be Steem OG females (from the hermie pollen), and some are going to be Steem OG mixed male & female (from the male pollen). Interesting.

As I said yesterday, I don't think I want the Steem OG offspring seeds, regardless of their mostly-feminized status. If the strain itself isn't quite stabilized, and is prone to going hermie even when living a stress-free life, it's not safe to have in a sensimillia (seedless bud) garden.

There's a different lower flower on the same plant, looking completely female from most angles. But from underneath, it's a different story:

And zooming in to show the stamens (male parts that look like a bunch of bananas) on the left side of the node:

Those stamens consist of a stalk protruding from the flower, and an anther, which produces the dusty yellow pollen.

This clip shows it well:

The pollen is tiny, and spreads easily. Cannabis is a wind-pollinated plant (it doesn't make nectar to attract honeybees), and normal garden airflow tends to spread it quickly. Pollen cleanup on aisle S3!

As I said the other day, pollen from hermaphroditic females is valuable for creating feminized (all female) seeds, but only if it came from a plant that produced the pollen because of stress, not because it has a genetic propensity to hermaprodism. In my case, it appears to be the latter, so I probably won't be saving either the offspring or the pollen.

Another lower flower with a hermie pollen sac, ready to burst open any time. I removed it, and a few others, but it seems this plant is going to continue to try to pollinate itself - and my 3 MK Ultras! I'll have to be vigilant about checking every day for new sacs.

All 4 adult plants, filling up my garden space nicely! The 3 MK Ultra plants aren't showing dark pistils or swollen calyxes yet, so maybe my efforts to cut down on pollination are working.

That said...

This may already be confusing enough, but it gets a bit weirder.

Since the 3 MK Ultra girls aren't hermies, and don't appear to have hermaphrodism running in their family genes, if the Steem OG female/hermie does pollinate it and create offspring seeds, they could have some advantages:

  • an interesting Steem OG / MK Ultra cross
  • naturally feminized
  • only half Steem OG genetics, so maybe not too likely to go hermie

Long story short, I'll probably keep any MK Ultra / Steem OG seeds that are produced. I'll probably dispose of the Steem OG / Steem OG seeds now maturing in my buds.

One thing is for certain: "problems" like this lead to massive growth and learning! I feel I have leveled up again, as a result of this huge learning experience. I understand the flowering process and genetics from a new angle, and better than I have before. I'm in this for the long haul, so adventures like this only add to my strength as a gardener, and give me tools for future successes.

Hopefully you're also getting something out of this! I enjoy sharing it with you.

DRutter

banner2019.jpg

Sort:  

Aww 96 days old...that's how old Grama would've been in years.

awesome post, easy to follow & great pics!

You deserve a blaze up :)

sneaks in to the left of the Dr
I know you have some damn good tokes!

Keep the seeds regardless. There may be a purpose for them and it doesn't hurt to set them aside with a label on them.

Your plants are such a beautiful green! So do you have access to clones?

Thanks bud!
Access? If you mean can I buy them, not at the moment, but I could probably find a source if I had to.
If you mean can I clone, yes, I cloned My Pink Kush plants (first blockchain crop) back in 2018 :)

Have an elevated afternoon fam.

Yeah i meant if you had a good source to buy.

I'm sure I could figure out a source if I had to.
For a 4 plant garden, not sure if it would be feasible or not. Depends how great they are and what the price is, I guess!

Your plants are such a
Beautiful green! So do you
Have access to clones?

                 - jonyoudyer


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It's interesting how you can see the outline of seeds, in the bud. And cool to see how the bud grows and develops - from the bottom up!

Very cool to see the outline of the seed, with clear ridges and football shape. Too bad the seeds take up nutrients that would have gone into medicine, because they are pretty amazing themselves. Hempseed oil is one of the most nutritious fats known.

Hello, I am seeing your posts, they are very interesting, you should use tag: naturalmedicine and naturalproducts, and maybe you can use steemstem which is a science tag. You could ask in the steemstem discord or write to @steemstem, if this type of publication is accepted by them.

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll look into trying naturalmedicine in a post soon. :)


You have received a Peace Token!

PEACE is a currency (which you now own 1/47000th of) within the Steem blockchain ecosystem, accessible through Steem-Engine! As a Peace Token holder, thank you very much for your efforts to spread and sustain peace.

Congratulations @drutter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!