Finally starting up my new medicine patch! Meet the new crop: Steem OG and MK Ultra!

in #cannabis5 years ago

Thanks to the free market, I have seeds to start up my new indoor cannabis garden. Here they are:

4444.JPG

Steem OG

... is a hybrid of hybrids created by my friend @jonyoudyer in California. I've grown it once before, and found a really gorgeous blue-green phenotype I named "Ace". I'm excited to grow it again! These seeds came to me through my Canadian buddy @BluntSmasha. I believe the genetics have been somewhat stabilized via a couple generations of breeding, but the phenos expressed may vary. The seeds are not feminized (ie: some are probably males).

Of 5 seeds, I'm expecting about 4 to germinate, and about 2 females to make it to adulthood (flowering).

MK Ultra

... is a heavy-hitting Indica, high in THC, low in CBD, and known for mild-altering effects and sedation. An excellent choice for making healing extracts for my wife @MediKatie. I've never grown this strain before but I'm fairly experienced with similar Indicas. The seeds came to me via my friend Bert Easterbrook, a well-known cannabis activist in the Vancouver scene. They're also not feminized, and here again I'm expecting about 2 females to survive to adulthood.

Which means I should have about 4 mature plants full of bud sometime in February! (That would be perfect, because that's when the outdoor gardening scene begins to get started with indoor sprouting etc.)

Not my first rodeo

This will be my first crop at this location, but I've done small indoor setups like this before - all 3 of them right here on the Steem blockchain! They were at my little apartment in Vancouver over the past 2 years:

  1. Pink Kush
  2. Steem OG & Northern Lights #4
  3. Super Skunk

Before that, I was homeless for a time, so it was difficult to grow anything. (I do have stories about adventures during that period, but I'll save them for another post!)

Before that, my grandmother was alive and I was caring for her at her house in the outskirts of Vancouver in 2015. I managed to grow a single plant, avoiding detection of out-of-town family members who swore to destroy any cannabis found. It was a Girl Scout Cookies, and turned out to be female. With the small amount of bud, I made oil for MediKatie's cancer.

1111.JPG

Never-before-seen photo of the plant I stealthily grew in my late grandfather's greenhouse. It was 2015, right when Justin Trudeau took power and promised to "legalize cannabis day 1".

And before all that, I ran a black market grow-op for a couple years, so I have experience in a variety of cannabis garden settings. Not to mention decades of experience growing other plants for food or flowers. I can grow, and grow I shall!

That's my new spot, ready for action once I germinate and sprout (probably tomorrow). All it takes is one corner of a small room! And it can be done for almost zero budget. It doesn't even require much electricity - no more than any other household lamp. I've done it multiple times, without ANY fertilizers, pesticides, fungicides, or other products. Just dirt and tapwater!

Follow along as I complete my "Soil to Oil" series with this crop, having been interrupted by the move out of Vancouver to raise our newborn.

I'm growing cannabis to treat MediKatie's cancer and my PTSD, which will be far safer and stronger than anything in the legalized market, for almost no cost, right in my livingroom - and on the Steem blockchain! Join me!

And grow in peace.
DRutter

banner 2019.jpg

Sort:  

That makes me happy to see Steem og back in the feed! I hope you find a true winner!

Took me a sec to realize where the plant in that picture grown. Can't believe it was just a little incidental seed finding in a bag of our first purchase at a dispensary. Thank you for making medicine for me, I have positive vibes for our next medicine goals :) Our old growing location was cool (and kinda funny and badass how we pulled it off), but I'm much happier to have our bigger, safer, more secure and longterm location!

What if you get to breed these two together! That would be a great cross. Steem Ultra! lol

Comment of the Day!!
Niiiice, actually hadn't even thought of that, and you're right, it would be an incredible cross. MK Ultra's parents are:

  • OG Kush
  • G13

Steem OG's parents are:

  • Hindu kush
  • Afghani
  • Cali orange
  • skunk
  • cheese
  • Columbian gold

That should be a kickass and diverse hybrid. I bet it would grow like a rocket. Pollen isn't always a problem! Let's see what happens :)

all those are delicious.
do it! YummmMMM : D

Glad to see you guys back at it, with just a short break to grow something different, hehe ;) The only reason you took time off I bet is cuz you moved your garden in the summer, if you'd moved in winter it would have been different! That's cool that you were growing up until the very end at your old location, and that the Girls found a good home. And hey, your garden is ready to go for next year with garlic already in the ground! Upvoted and staying tuned for updates :)

good luck with the new greenery, also good luck to all remaining here on the blockchain.

Glad they made it. Good luck bro!

Great post! I'm excited to see how the Soil to Oil series rolls out. I've always been interested in growing, myself. I appreciate you documenting how it's done. Best of luck!

We think the Soil to Oil series is going to end up one of the best bits of knowledge on this blockchain. Always interesting to see how peoples' craft has been honed.

If anyone's wondering, the Soil to Oil series thus far is:

While not part of the series, here are top-shelf posts on harvesting flowers and curing bud.