You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mystery "vaping lung illness" SOLVED!

in #cannabis4 years ago

I'm saying that the CDC are corrupt. I guess that's the missing piece that has you confused. Once you realize they're lying, anything they said is suspect. You want my evidence? I want theirs. They don't have any and have been caught lying nonstop. Nothing they say matches up with anything else they say, but you want to give them the benefit of the doubt? Come on, you're smarter than that!

Sort:  

I don't doubt it. But I say NBC News (your main source) is also (demonstrably) corrupt and lies like a rug, so anything they say is also suspect. You cannot trust the CDC or the mainstream news. I take anything government agencies or the MSM tells me with a grain of salt, regardless of my own confirmation bias. I would personally love it if NBC had somehow "solved" the mystery here, but their paltry, unscientific testing doesn't mean a whole lot, unfortunately (I'm not even sure CannaSafe is trustworthy). As someone directly concerned with the safety of vaping products, the best I can do is triangulate the truth from a number of directions and use the precautionary principle as best I can.

It's not smart to jump to conclusions simply because they align with my own fears or wishes.

Jumping to a conclusion is good when it's the correct one, and doing so will save people's lives, which (supposedly) is the goal. Further confirmation will come once this theory is put to the test, but so far, the CDC refuses to do so. And they've designated themselves the gatekeepers of the solution to this "crisis".

You're suggesting NBC is lying that a lab they hired detected Myclobutanil in all the tainted samples they sent in? The mainstream media lies, all the time, but how could THAT be a lie? WHY would that be a lie, when the lie would easily be detected and exposed? Sometimes the media tells the truth, like when they have a legit story, and want "the scoop". It drives their ratings and makes them money in a legitimate way. Sure, they lie, but they also tell the truth. Just because the media says Myclobutanil is in all the tainted samples doesn't make that a lie. The veracity of the claim will have to be tested another way.

Myclobutanil's effects when heated and inhaled are exactly the effects seen in this "mystery substance" the CDC can't seem to identify. It dissolves the lungs, leaving people gasping for air, low O2 saturation in the blood, pale, low energy, convolutions, coma, and death. Exactly what the mystery substance is doing to people in the USA right now. Coincidence? Further testing would tell us, but hasn't been done.

Are you aware (if you read the post, you are) that Canada already had an identical "vaping crisis", back in 2015? People were sick and dying. The mystery substance turned out to be Myclobutanil.

There's no way Myclobutanil can show up in 10 of 10 tainted samples and NOT be the culprit. Your devil's advocate position is cute but completely baseless, and only done to be contradictory, and throw doubt on an issue which is costing people their lives. Stop.

Your characterization of my motives and your acrimony towards me is totally unwarranted. You keep going on about saving lives, but what you're advocating directly contradicts the findings of the test results that you cite as your source! That's what I'm pointing out. That seems dangerous and inaccurate, and is the reason I am engaging you--not because I think it's "cute" to be a devil's advocate.

Are you aware (if you read the post, you are) that Canada already had an identical "vaping crisis", back in 2015?

No I was not, until I learned about it from you. And I thank you for that. I have no doubt myclobutanil is terrible shit, and it's likely some (or maybe all) of the cases the CDC is tracking are caused by it, but you have not made a good case for that. Additionally, your are claiming the opposite of the conclusions of NBC News and CannaSafe (while citing them as a source!) without presenting even the thinnest shred of evidence. If you convince people that black market vape cartridges are safe, they could end up ingesting myclobutanil! How does that help anyone? How does that help your cause?

Based on the article you posted and results from CannaSafe's it's clear that the best bet -- if one wants to avoid myclobutanil -- is to use regulated, legal cartridges instead of black market ones.

Further testing would tell us, but hasn't been done.

Wrong.

See: https://csalabs.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/CannaSafe_VitaminEAcetate_Report.pdf

(Please pay attention to the conclusions.)

You don't do yourself, your cause, or anyone any favors by misrepresenting the facts, and demonizing those who challenge your statements--I am just another consumer trying to make good decisions for myself.

It's clear you're only here to obfuscate. I can't stop you from commenting on my posts, but I'm asking you to.

The other thing I forgot to mention: your source (NBC) claims laboratory tests found pesticides or residual solvents in all of the cartridges except for the few purchased at legal dispensaries. So how did you come to the conclusion??

It's the unregulated cartridges that are safe, and the legalized ones that are killing people.

This is what I'm trying to understand.