Bud Wash(JUNK YARD GROW UPDATE #13)

in #cannabis6 years ago

Wow what a crazy week! Shit isn’t looking to good, but I still have faith! Lots of good things to come. Besides for everyone who is here for the money, maybe it’s good to weed these people out😉

Anyways, time for an update for my outdoor grow, aka “Junk Yard Grow”.

For those that saw my last outdoor update, you will recall that my neighbor has a dog, and the hair is getting on my plants! So my solution for this is a bud wash.

11ABD8A5-298A-4A2A-9CE9-673567202ECB.jpeg

A bud wash is exactly what it sounds like. Same thing as you would wash off your table grapes. I had no buckets so instead I just used my sink. The first compartment is water with a little bit of lemon juice.

D45DDA55-528F-4E0F-AEFF-1E5A87768C25.jpeg

B572E8E2-EBFF-4E3E-8CE7-445777E475EC.jpeg

I first dip a bud into the first compartment with the lemon juice, then use the 2nd compartment for a rinse with just plain water.

EF23F9F2-7B9A-44D8-86EF-8C5B0A42E9F7.jpeg

57CAB942-0417-467E-9956-9D1CDABB4823.jpeg

YUCK!!

Look at all that crap left behind. I think I’ll start doing a bud wash every harvest now.

64645AD9-C4AF-4EB4-B1B0-AEA4811E4DC4.jpeg

After the wash, I put the buds on a hanger.

9ECE2953-EC08-43B8-84B4-1C8DE466EA08.jpeg

Then let a fan dry off the water. That’s it. My buds are now dog hair free, yay!! I should be able to smoke in a few days to see if a bud wash is something I really want to do every harvest. At least for my outdoor plants. So stay tuned people.

9C0579BA-DC9D-42AE-AF6A-84B7E6009756.jpeg

CCF8AB86-E6FD-468E-9ABB-CB6E08444689.jpeg

Keep the faith!

oh yeah 20 min till a bad ass radio show in the Canna-curate server!! So hit that banner people!!

JPEG_20180729_131244.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting you used lemon? I'm curious why, I would be concerned it did something to trichomes. So, last two years I've used a microscope and you can see everything!! I had russet mites last year and it was a nightmare, however, using natural remedies, I got it under control. There is soo much dust, and fibers and mite poop and p.m and dead bugs and you name it you be smoking it! I have washed my pot at harvest every time and my pot is the cleanest, organic pot ever! I literally do not smoke others pot unless they take the care level I do. I use three tubs, do it outside, filtered water with a very very low dose of hydrogen peroxide on first tub. Really important to use luke warm water no cold water... I'll do a post on this... if you can hang outside warmer dryer day, until dry to eye then put in room with dehumidifier.. I can teach you how to make food grade hydrogen peroxide as well.

Cool! Yeah this is my first ever bud wash, and I heard lemon juice works good. An old timer told me. He also told me to use 3 buckets, but I just did not have any. Kinda did it on impulse, lol. I’ll look forward to your post about the subject. Make sure you ping me in canna curate so I don’t miss it.

What, you don't want to smoke dog hair? Isn't that just flavor? ;)
@themarkymark said that voting more should help lower the RC cost of comments, so I am trying to vote a bit more now. Let's hope this all straightens out by the end of the week! :)

If @themarkymark said it I'll do. Have a vote. ✌

@themarkymark and the funky bunch run this shit!! lol

Right on, looks like it should work out, as long as the majority of the water is gone quickly and your temperature is low, to avoid mold and mildew. I'm interested to hear how the wash affected things. In theory, very little of the cannabinoids should be lost, since they don't really like water very much. As long as it's not boiling hot, or freezing cold, they should mostly stay put on the calyxes.
Good post bro! I'll give it an upvote tomorrow, when it'll be worth something again.

ANNNND we are back :-D

What is the deal with Steemauto?

What is your water source? Well, city water?

RO

Nice. I know somebody who was doing this with city water. I ruined the taste of the buds.

Absolutely crazy, man! I still can't upvote with my mana down significantly and I don't even know if it makes sense to post with so much people out of the game.

Yeah it does make sense. We got to keep on steeming. I know I burnt myself out even before the hardfork. But I’ll get back in my grove soon

Excellent!

A group of us have been doing this for years now. Not only does it rinse off dust and stuff, but it also contributes to the cure. I'd let them dry naturally though - the fan will dry them too fast. Mine only take a few days, after starting out dripping wet.

And we use equal amounts of baking soda and lemon juice. It balances pH and it's an old cleanser formula itself.

I'm curious about your rinsing recipe, wondering if I should use a dehumidifier this year? If I'm not in a rush, can I use just fans or nothing?

It's an odd thing ...

You'd expect soaking wet colas to take forever to dry. But in my experience and that of others, they'll actually dry faster - totally counter intuitive. I've been doing this for 5 years and it doesn't vary. In an environment that isn't high humidity - mine is typically under 50% RH - mine will be dry enough to jar in 4 days or less.

There's a whole thread on 420Mag about the method:

https://www.420magazine.com/community/threads/bud-washing.200881/

wonderful and followed ya, thanks so much! I've heard of the Japanese method of curing for 5 years, how about them apples....

Thanks for the tip!