Cannabis Legalization - Why you shouldn't care, if it's good or bad for you.

in #cannabis8 years ago

First of, let me just write that I'm not going to waste time telling you how amazing I think the cannabis plant is. Either you already think so yourself, or you couldn't care less. (Though I do love the plant)
However, I will see if I can't explain to you as succinctly as possible, why it really doesn't matter anyway. Since you are the only one who should have a say in, what you do with your body.

  • Well, I actually shouldn't have have to write anymore than that. But 99% of the people I've meet, that wants a legalization, forget that tiny detail.

Have you ever felt the need, to have someone else decide what you do in your everyday life? Me neither. Well, there was one time, during my depression, where I just wanted someone to save me by taking complete control over my life. But honestly, I was in a shitty place in my life. And couldn't see a future ahead of me. Other than that, then no.

  • So why should someone else, have a say, in what substances you voluntarily want to ingest?
    That was something the plantation owners did to their slaves. If they got drunk, high, or what else. They couldn't perform their work as well, as when they weren't intoxicated.

Why should you care, you ask? We aren't living in a plantation, we have a democracy, you say.

  • Well, in essence, there isn't much difference between the two. Sure, you can pick what ever job you want, but in the end, you're still forced to throw a percentage of your income, to the plantation owners each month.

But we get something for our money, you say!

  • Sure. And so did the slaves picking cotton. They where given enough food to survive and work, they where given shelter, and sometimes even a doctors appointment.

Anyway, back to the topic.

Your life is about your happiness. And if someone can dictate how you behave, what you ingest, and what to think. You can't really be happy. (Well, you can. - There's a reason for Denmark being number one, when it comes to anti-depressants) - Well, I do see happiness as a choice, so one could claim that I contradict myself there. But then again, chemicals in our brain, do influence our choices somewhat.

Some people would argue, that cannabis users are a cost when it comes to healthcare. But having read this far, you probably already somewhat realize my answer to that. - When you force someone to pay for healthcare, you shouldn't really concern yourself, with how much they use it.

  • In reality, they shouldn't be forced to pay healthcare anyway. Then their health, was nothing you had to worry about in the first place.
    And no. "Caring for someone", does not give you the right to treat them as a slave either. It's not in their best interest to be forced to pay, and it's not in their best interest, that you interfere in their substance use, addiction or not. - Not until they themselves ask for help. (Sure, you can talk with them about it, and tell them what you think. But force is never the answer.)

I'm not even talking about cannabis alone here, this goes for every other substance you can ingest in one way or another. It's your choice, even if it ruins you completely, like Krokodil(Desomorphine), or if it's subscribed drugs, like morphine, Retalin, sleeping pills, and what not. Even if, most people get violent on the drug, you have no right to stop them taking it.

  • However, you do have a right to stop them from being violent when their on the drug. (or off it, doesn't matter) If your health or life is in danger, don't just freeze and do nothing. Stop them them.

Anyway. I'm getting tired of looking into a bleak white screen with a bit too many letters on it, and apparently I'm not very succinct. So I'm gonna stop here, and see if I can't have you start up a discussion in the thread instead. I'll be happy to take you on, if you think you have some points to make, which contradicts mine. ^_^

Sincerely, @smokerscorner