Gavita DE Lighting with supplemental experiment

in #cannabis8 years ago (edited)

High Again!  Steemit Fam!


I did some research and switched one of our gardens to the new Gavita DE pro lights that came out a few years back. After a couple of rounds with the plants I realized that while the new lights grew way larger flowers than normal HPS the lighting spectrum was not the same as the older lights.  The new lights make much larger and denser flowers but the color, and resin is not the same as old school HPS or SE HPS.

After contacting Jair Gavita an owner of the company he put me in contact with the head engineer Theo. I was told by Theo that Gavita recommends supplemental lighting to round out the lighting spectrum to make it more closely duplicate the sun. The lights gavita recommends are the 270LEP plasma which is around $1000 a light.  I purchased one of these lamps for the experiment.

During the research of this, I discovered in many internet forums they discuss the use of 315 CMH (Ceramic Metal Halide) because they are inexpensive and come very close to duplicating the light spectrum created by the thousand dollar plasma.

I also tried 2 different LED panels recommended for indoor farming. 


After two rounds of growing like this I've concluded that the 270 LEP definitely is the lamp to use if trying to round out the spectrum of the DE bulb to increase essential oil production and flower density. The plasma from gavita is definitely worth the extra bucks. While the CMH and LED would work , the quality and quantity produced from the above combo was undeniable.

thanks guys :)

Sort:  

Oh! I can even smeell it from this side of my screen!.. so much beauty in a couple pictures... I envy your friends haha

thank you :)