NUMBER ONE CANNING MISTAKE MADE BY NEW CANNERS!

in #canning7 years ago

So I often see new canners on Social Media sites like Facebook and even popular blog sites asking what seems to be the same question over and over again. That question is “How do I can this or that?”

What I see most often is people want to live a more self-reliant life style, and they want to start out with preserving their own food. Don’t get me wrong I think that is a great place to start! But they try to jump in both feet first with out doing any research. They go out and buy all the jars they think they will need and a water bath canner. Then they think to them self’s “ALRIGHT I’M READY LET’S DO THIS!” then they realize that they have no idea how to can the stuff they want to preserve the most! So they take to places like Facebook and find groups that they think will help them. Some of the canning groups out there are full of people that do want to help new canners. But you have the other 80% of the groups that are not there to help. They think it is funny to make you feel stupid in one way or another.

So I want to put this post out there to help new canners see their NUMBER ONE CANNING MISTAKE!

That mistake would be not going out and buying a CANNING BOOK!

Forget about everything else for right now! If you have the jars and water bath canner that’s great! But don’t even look at that stuff right now. The only thing you should worry about right now is your new canning book!

This book should become your new best friend! This book is going to tell you so much about canning. For example it will tell you how to can, how long to can different foods, and it will even tell you what stuff you will need! For instance if you want to can spaghetti sauce do you need a water bath canner or a pressure canner? Guess what?! Your fancy new canning book will tell you what you need and why!

But I think now is a good time to put in my WARNING

DSC02049.JPG

WARNING!!!!
After getting your new canning book and even trying some of the recipes in it, you will find your self seeking more canning books!

My message is this. If you take the time to start out slow and read different canning books for your self. You can become an expert canner in your own right. You will not have to rely on others and isn’t that another part of becoming self-reliant?

Sort:  

Good advice! I also like the National Center for Home Food Preservation website as a good resource (http://nchfp.uga.edu).

But overall, if you're even mildly of a prepper-mindset, having the printed hardcopy of the Ball Blue Book or other canning book(s) is essential! The internet might not always be there if SHTF!

meep

If you're happy and you know it, just say meep. :-D

Yes Yes and Yes! my good friend @debbiesbackporch will love this one!

Excellent advice and spot on!

Don't forget about the library, if money's tight. That way you can give a couple different books a 'test drive'. Some books are easier to follow/understand than others.

Also check out your local agricultural extension office. They are a good resource for classes, if you'd prefer some hands on experience with a mentor close by.

I was lucky and grew up with a great-aunt and grandmother that canned all sorts of stuff. Dang, do I miss those bread-n-butter pickles...

I forgot the library we are so rural here we just order the canning books we liked.

Makes sense! Besides, the books tend to get stained and beat up just being in the vicinity of the work area. I'd hate to see a borrowed book damaged.

I was just thinking that getting set up - initially - for canning can get expensive. This way a newbie will end up with the correct book that's effective in the long run - that they can stain, splatter, and mark up to their heart's content.

I agree. There is so much misinformation out there.
Read, read and read again.
Water canning is good but alot of canned foods need pressure canners. New canners don't realize this.
Get your info first then consider moving on from there.

I started with water bathing making jelly and canned fruits. then went from there.

I was blessed to come from a family that hadn't lost the canning know-how yet. But I have to say that the little canning book which started out my grandma's and came down to my mom formed the basis of how I learned to can. I've gone further because I've now learned to pressure can, but the canning book is still invaluable. You need to know to process that applesauce for 20 minutes in a water bath and ground beef for 90 minutes at 11 pounds of pressure in the pressure canner!

The Blue Book of Canning was just about the first thing I bought when I started canning. I watched my mother do a lot of canning when I was younger, but I didn't have any desire to learn myself until I was a lot older, so the book was necessary for me.

Great advice. I am starting off with everything I need so I should be good. Now just have to do it. A lot is finding the time to do it right now.

Canning does take a lot time prepping filling and processing. You will find a time to break out your jars and start canning.