Cape Town drought

in #cape6 years ago

Cape Town is experiencing the worst drought in history.

There is rain predicted for this evening! Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

Please share any water saving tips in the comment section. Can’t wait to hear your ideas.

Sort:  

I save all of the water from my washing machine (on the most economical setting it is around 60 liters), and use it to flush my toilet. I store it in 25 liter containers and add a little bleach to stop it from smelling as 60 liters is enough to flush for a week (if I let the yellow mellow).

I have also unplumbed the u-bend from my sinks, and put buckets underneath to collect the water also to use in the toilet and on the plants.

I take showers with a small jug and am very careful with washing up water. Like this I can use roughly 20 liters of water a day.