You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Missing: the Ayn Rand heroic Capitalists in the Voluntaryist Movement?

in #capitalism6 years ago

Maybe we focus on real economists and developers of free market principle. Rand was good for getting me angry enough to consider libertarianism. Now I'm hungry for more, and I'm finding that in Austrian economics.

Sort:  

I love the idea of “Primacy of existence.” A lot of Ayn Rand’s ideas were not hers, but thinkers such as Francis Bacon (“Nature, to be commanded, must be obeyed.”). I think the book “The Objectivist Philosophy of Ayn Rand,” in the first four chapters is most valuable and those are ideas from great thinkers preceding Ayn Rand. So to be anti Ayn Rand in everything is ridiculous. IMO. I’ve gone into exploring Austrian economics myself. It’s not easy. There is a whole lot of material and I will need to study it full time to become an expert. So instead I read small essays on certain aspects. I just finished reading Saifedean Ammous’ book on The Bitcoin Standard. He is an Austrian economist and seems to still think gold is valuable, but he is a bitcoin proponent. Another one is just an essay I read by Jorg Guido Hulsman, “Deflation and Liberty.”

Both sound wonderful :) I'm just listening to podcasts at work mostly. Eventually I'll get into actually reading books. A lot of them are available for free from the Mises Institute.