My Fourteen Year Old: "I Want a Car"...Me: LOL

in #car2 years ago

So my daughter wants to buy a car. She's 14. She wants to start getting her permit...but she has to be at least 15.5 to get it (as I understand it in my state in the USA). She has her eyes set on a VW Beetle, or anything Volkswagen. She loves how they look...however...

She asked me, "What's the best car a new driver should drive?"

I told her, "Anything that can be hit and not take dent...anything built in the 1970's or earlier," laughing.

She told me of her obsession with VW and I told her I've always wanted a Corbin Sparrow, but I think she should look up a weinermobile to see if she can afford to buy one:
image.png

Source:

The Corbin Sparrow looks like this:
image.png
Source

Of course, she laughed at both. The weinermobile was, surprisingly enough, $60K. The Corbin Sparrow (about $15K USD) is one of the first electric cars in modern times, is classified as a motorcycle, but can go freeway speeds (70mph, or ~115kmh) for up to 30 miles, if memory serves...so it can't go far, but that could also be from lead acid batteries. If they were replaced with Li-Ion or Li-polymer, they'd likely go farther per charge, in my opinion. I've always liked them...which was before the Tesla Roadster was around.

Another car I've actually considered buying (I haven't really considered the other ones so much...though the Sparrow is tempting if cheap enough) is the Aptera.

image.png
Source

This car has not been produced yet for the public, but they are taking deposits like many other electric vehicle startups. 18 years ago, I was telling my grandmother-in-law that I wanted one. They were working toward production, went out of business, then popped back up on the radar a year or 2 ago. They just had an investment round, but it was too rich for my blood. Give me a year in Hive and I'll be ready to invest lol

The Aptera is a car I'd love to have and drive. It's super aerodynamic and the newer version has a model that is a "never plug-in" model where it has solar panels built onto its body that can charge up to 40 miles worth of a charge by sitting in the sun in the driveway:
image.png

Source

I totally geek out looking at these pictures!!! This 'never plug in' model is like $40K ish and out of my price range...for now 😉... a couple million upvotes and I'll have enough to buy one! LOL!

Anyway, my daughter will likely get a car like this:
image.png

Source

hahahaha...probably not. But it was fun to talk it over with her.

Tell me...

What was your first car (put it in the comments below)?

This was the first car I drove:
image.png
Source
A good 'ol Geo Metro! Manual transmission, baby!

This is the first car I bought:

image.png
Source

A brand new Hyundai Accent 😁

Sort:  

I had a car at 11, let her do what she wants.

Awesome! LOL

It was, till I crashed it :-)

Congratulations @haveyaheard! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 20

If you get into a car accident with a “safe” from the 1970s, it’s significantly more likely you get hurt more than with a not very safe 2020s car. Something to consider when buying older cars!

Can you really drive a car at 15.5? That’s pretty young!

Safety nutter, bet you never rode a bike did you?

Bicycles? Rode over 5000km just this year ;)

Nope, motorbikes. Cycles are cool though.

Yeah, you can get your permit, so you can drive with a parent...but yes...young. I started teaching her how to drive a stick shift at 13...I learned at 12. You're probably right with all the crunch zones and all...