Mitsubishi GTO (3000GT) Fun in the snow!

in #car6 years ago (edited)

snowbusiness.jpeg
There's no business like snow business...

This is taken after I imported the car to Sweden in 2005, the AWD traction with snow tyres was amazing!
The first day I had the car out in the snow I helped pull another motorist out of a deep ditch. The car didn't flinch, no wheel spin, just dug in and drew the other car straight up on to the road. Wet weather performance is also excellent in these cars, great traction and cornering ability, very stable, although with some understeer if pushed to the limit.

Sort:  

#japanese is a Japanese post only.Please use #japan.

Ok thanks!

I saw a video recently (could have been a 5th Gear section) where a front wheel drive car on winter tyres easily out-climbed a 4 wheel drive car on summer tyres up a snow covered incline. I guess with your AWD & snow tyres you'll be helping out recovering HGVs ;)

Yeah, there’s no grip with summer tyres, doesn’t matter how many wheels are driving, they all spin. The winter tyres on this car were studless “friction tyres”. They have a soft compound made for cold weather and the tread pattern is made so the tyre spreads out a lot under load and gives a big surface area. Studded tyres are more effective on ice than these friction tyres, but only on ice, not snow of any type.

I'm not up on my tyres, always gone for the cheapest on past cars but when we got the Fabia in March, it was shod in Conti Sport 3s. Bloody grippy on dry, warm days but just as crap as the cheapos when weather cold :(

Awesome action shot! Now I want a GTO more.... Next post crash?

Guess who is sitting in the passenger seat in this pic... 8 years old... his destiny as yet unwritten...

nice GTO u got there. its hard to see it here, evenif got the owner most probably keep it and don't drive it.

Thanks, this car really was ok, but I don't have it anymore, check my other posts about my Mazda RX7fd. Will be posting a lot more on that one this summer I hope!

:D<has PURE joy in her face :D & NO There's no business like snow business. aww woop woop mishyyybissY creaming IT :D 🐲🐉💗
he he got to luurve da last coment - IF pushed to DA limit^^ :P
awsome picture🐲🐉💗 , well framed & captured Im soo impressed !!! 💗

A perfect winters day, 30cm of fresh snow. I had a friend drive the car around while I stood and shot with a long lens, the camera was only 3.2 mega pixels, but this was 2005!
This is a great angle for this car, all the snow make it look lower too 😆.
The angle of the sun ☀️ was perfect as well shows up his little snake 🐍 eyes 👀 in the shadow.

2005??? <destroIiiYyd^^ :P LOL heay that snow is all yumyuylishousnEss 🐲🐉💗 & adds that extra punch :D yeahh you :D 💗
<agrees & puurrrS all oFer^^🐲🐉💗
snake? ya suuure about that??? :P ^^

Yes this pic is ancient history!
Those little lamps in front of the pop ups are called snake 🐍 eyes on the GTO 🤓

aww so cute LOL it is 💕 💕 buuzz with me, most things i can twist, turn into a pun^^ il grab ;) :P LOL

I know, I just like lecturing you 👩🏼‍🎓

he he playing in my backyard and all^^ better watch it, or i'l start to think you like me lol :P

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jasonwhite to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Sweet ride man. Awesome pic

This is my old car, have an RX7 now :)