I BOUGHT A 70’s SPORTSCAR PROJECT! - #1 Datsun 240z build

in #car5 years ago (edited)

F7F55188-3607-44EE-8D0D-60128A8B3E83.jpeg

For many the 240z has always been one of those cars you’ve seen once or twice and thought; Holy shit, what was that? Porsche? Ferrari? Jaguar?

One day one of my friends came up to me with a series 1 240z and I was shocked. First time seeing one on the road and in person. The lines and the sheer beauty of that thing is ridicolous. I was in love.

I kinda forgot about it for a year or so and came over MotorTrends show Roadkill, and after a few episodes the Rotsun came in like a knight in rusty armor, there it was again. And this time I was not able to get it out of my head and spent every waking minute looking for one.

I quickly found out that there was not many of these, for sale that is. The ones that rearly came for sale was either half finished or finished and got sold immediatly. Or waaay over my budget.

As my dream of getting one was slowly fading away, I remembered that my buddy with the series one car had a parts car. So I called him up without any thoughts about being able to get it, but his answer was even worse. It was sold.

We just kept talking about the datsun’s and he just mentioned that he knew who bought it and could ask him if he wanted to sell it to me. At first I said no, but he convinced me that he had to many cars and this one was not prioritized in his builds now and he might let it go.

He also warned me about buying the car, probably 30 times:p I asked why I shouldn’t buy it and he answered; It’s just a shell, nothing that’s still attached is usable and it’s rusted to bits. The paper’s on the car however is perfect. My response to that was; Sold! Call him now! This may be weird to many of you, but to me this was the car I needed. A car where I can learn everything about building a car!

A few days later I got a message on messenger and it was the guy who had the 240z. He didn’t say anything about selling it, but said I could come take a look if I wanted to.

So obviously, I did.

The first step I took into the garage I was the owner of that 240z, the other owner just didn’t know it yet.

The next day it was safe a sound at home in my garage.

I’ve had it for exactly one year this month, and I want to document my whole journey of both learning and building myself a car.

If you would like to see more please leave me a thumbs up or a comment letting me know that you have interest in seeing this as that will help motivate me even more.

I have pictures from day one and in the next blog build series I get into what I started with. For now, enjoy these pictures I took on day 1!

7E022EDC-B493-4B7E-AA3B-D92341054DE9.jpeg

E34AC7BB-7226-4A59-8D6C-A1E1E7654C78.jpeg

4367B463-E999-4124-8785-FDD9C305BE1F.jpeg

AFE6E711-BE32-439E-B84C-D3A05C7F49DC.jpeg

E59E55D4-4896-4A05-BE1C-F9EEF4FC2438.jpeg

F4C72993-875D-40C7-8B45-9C49D8763C03.jpeg

See you in the next one🤙🏼

Sort:  

Congratulations @martinmyrene! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice, I had a 280z several years back. I remember the hood being long as hell!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is true! Also one of the things that makes this car so damn beautiful👌🏽