What was your first car?

in #cars6 years ago

What was your first car? 

Feel free to share your story down below... Here's mine anyway:

I will never forget my first car... After spending days searching through the local classifieds, I found a 2001 Peugeot 307 (for US-readers; it's a 5-door hatchback mainly driven by seniors). It definitely wasn't the car of my dreams, but figured it would get me around town and since it had 5 doors, I would have plenty of space for friends to tag along. The car seemed to be in good condition and the seller looked like a cool guy, so being the typical impatient 18-year-old, I decided not to have a pre-purchase inspection and just go for it. It all went downhill from there...

All seemed good. For about 24 hours... On the second day of owning the car, the head gaskets cracked and pretty much the entire engine gave up. It left me stranded on the side of the road.

After weekly trips to the local repair shop (and another couple of grand later), I figured that it was time to move on. When I sold the car, I was very clear that it would you from A to B, just don't try getting to C.

I guess the lesson here is to really think about what you're buying into, and to take your time to make sure it is what it seems. Don't rush into things. 

It sure was an expensive lesson for me, let's hope that I actually learned from it.


Sort:  

Congratulations @alexbroere! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alexbroere! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!