Broncos, a thing of the past ?

in #cars7 years ago

For the past few months we have had our hands on some 1970's broncos, these are to be restored, and I mean from literally pieces to beauty. Now whether or not this is a good idea is still to be determined, I'm just along for the ride. Below is a picture of the two that are actually in an okay condition.
IMG_0406.JPG

What I mean by okay is compared to the picture below this paragraph you wouldn't think any different considering the very noticeable lack of parts , here check it out
IMG_0404.JPG

Now don't worry everything is under control. This engine is going to be rebuilt by the Master automobile technician here in my shop. The frame on the other hand was going to be replaced by a frame already restored but couldn't work because it was modified for a different type of bronco. This had to do with it being lifted for reasons I don't exactly know.

Some are saying it's a waste of money, time and resources and thats why I'm proposing the question whether or not they are "a thing of the past?" If these broncos we currently possess turn out relatively the way anyone trying to make something out of nothing would want them to be. Is there any real gain in the equation after putting so much manual labor into them just to get them to a factory condition?

Here are some pictures under the hoods of the two we actually have on wheels
IMG_0407.JPG
IMG_0408.JPG

And another of the one in not so good condition...
IMG_0405.JPG

Overall we have a lot of work cut out for ourselves including $5,000 of interior work we haven't even put a dent in yet. So what are your ideas? Do these vehicles spark an interest in you, are they something worth the while? And if not ,what would be? These are all question still unanswered over here.

It's very exciting to witness where these projects are going and if you want me to keep updating the progress of them I'd be more than happy to. That's probably a given considering my growing interest in Broncos, so feel free to post any positive feedback constructive criticism or what type of vehicles do you want to see back out on the open road.

Thanks for reading - Brandon

Sort:  

I wouldn't say a first gen Bronco is a waste of money. Anyone who loves off-roading would love these, these are some of the most capable 4x4s of all time. If done right you could get 30k all day everyday. They are difficult to find, especially the earlier models that had the 289.

My uncle used to have one of them and I always dreamed of having it. I forget what actually happened to that thing, thank you for the feedback !

No problem! I'd hate to see these classics get destroyed because others don't see their true value. I hope you keep us updated!