TOKYO MOTOR SHOW (AN INSIGHT TO THE FUTURE?)

in #cars6 years ago

So I wasn’t planning on doing anything like this with my blogs on here but I have been so taken by the things I have seen recently that I just can’t help but write about them.

As some of you may be aware the Tokyo Motor Show has just taken place and at this show, I believe, we have seen the first proper glimpse of the future when it comes to transportation.

The car above is a Smart Vision EQ, now this isn’t a car that you will ever be able to drive and it’s not even a car that you will see on the roads, anytime soon that is. So why even talk about it then, well this car has taken me by storm, you see it’s an autonomous car that’s being pegged for release around 2030 (unconfirmed).

Let’s get into a little more detail then shall we.

Firstly just look at it… I know it’s not the normal spoilers and vents with shouting exhausts, looking like it’s already doing 100mph while parked. But you have to admit that it looks amazing, it reminds me of a cross between a go-cart and every car that I ever saw in any sci-fi movie when I was younger. I don’t care what anybody says, that is a very very good combination.

Now staying with the styling, the panels on the car aren’t just there to keep the wind and bugs out. They are almost all informative screens which can display any number of different pieces of information to assist either the next passenger or even pedestrians. The front panel will greet you as it arrives to pick you up, then the same panel will wave pedestrians on at a crossing.

The doors aren’t mearley doors, no no, they are coated with a film that enables them to display information such as the weather. Which has the added benefit of giving you a little more privacy whilst inside the car.

Speaking of the interior, take a look at it. This again brings me back to all of those sci-fi films I watched as a kid, looking clean and ultra modern. Of course you will notice the lack of normal in-car controls, steering wheel, gear stick or anything. The interior has been designed to be “lounge-like” to give a better impression of space. In keeping with this ethos they have put considerable thought into storage, with the motorised armrest also acting as storage and rubber straps to secure other luggage/personal items.

Once anymore details are released about this car I will make an update post. Not sure when or if that will happen but it would be nice to know the range, cost and specs ect.

This car is essentially the taxi of the future, you book the car, it turns up, you get in and it takes you to your destination.

You see in the not too distant future myself and many other people are thinking that you won’t need to drive yourself, you probably won’t even need to own a car. There is a very strong push with the major car manufacturers towards the autonomous car and if that future is going to look like this, then I for one can’t wait.

I don’t see autonomous cars taking over 100% (not anytime soon at least). There will always be the desire to get behind the wheel and go for a drive, go for a little adventure without knowing where you are heading. Sadly these cars of the future cannot provide that specific adventure but I wouldn’t count them out just on that one point.

With all the push towards electrified transportation and autonomous vehicles, I strongly advise you to take a few minutes and read up on these wonderful cars. I think I will be posting a few more articles about some of the other cars that debuted at the Tokyo Motor Show. Some of them will be here much sooner than the Smart Vision EQ and you will even be able to drive these ones!

I do still want to add a little humour to my posts so this quote from Frank Sinatra always made me smile and I hope you do too :D

“I feel sorry for people who don’t drink. They wake up in the morning and that’s the best they are going to feel all day.”

Sort:  

Good post

Follow me @dexabyte,as i did
&Upvote the posts

Congratulations @ellorei! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ellorei! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!