The Manual Gear and the Automatic Gear, YOUR THOUGHTS?

in #cars7 years ago


()

The other day i was on Steem speak and there was a discussion on automobiles, I asked about peoples preference between the Manual (shift stick) gear and the automatic drive, it was an interesting conversation. 

I'm sure every analysis i will do would be biased towards the manual gear car, you see i started driving when i was about  15  with a manual gear car, i fell in love with the idea of moving the gear and the clutch with some level of precision!

In my early days of driving i find it funny any time i had to drive an automatic , it felt weird and too easy, i usually made a joke that i might fall asleep driving on a lonely road.

The number of manual cars on the road these days have been shrinking drastically, i have also been affected by the automatic gear take over as i have been stuck with one for the last couple of years!


 A few advantages of the Manual drive Over the Automatic drive includes:

- Manual transmission has a higher Mechanical efficiency.

- Less expensive to manufacture.

- It has a lower rate of failure due to less complexity.


I always say this!!  ..... I will pick a good old Manual car over the Automatic any day, any time (except its during the weekdays in Lagos with the horrendous traffic!)

()

What are your thoughts on the Manual  versus the Automatic?? 


Drop a comment if you find this post useful.

Resteem // Upvote // Comment

follow @epikcoin 


Image Source 1, 2

Sort:  

I also started with a manual and prefer it for the following reasons: 1) replacing clutch plate is MUCH cheaper than a transmission job 2) more control of the power of 4 cylinder car/truck when I need to get up to speed more quickly (or get run over), and 3) easier to not speed b/c you can't go faster than the speed range of the gear one is currently in! Yes, an automatic is more relaxing but that is the ONLY benefit.

In the past it was pretty much a given that vehicles with manual transmissions would be more fuel-efficient than their automatic counterparts. But as automatics become more advanced and gain additional gears, they are often now overtaking manuals in terms of fuel economy.

I started driving from age 10, and it was also manual. The manual transmission rocks, also changing gears have this cool feel to it.

yeah...that vibe is a cool one

Some need for speed and GTA vibes!

This post received a 3.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @epikcoin! For more information, click here!

I prefer the automatic gear

Yeah , I understand the ease that comes with the automatic gear. Thanks for dropping by

I went to driving school
I was taught to drive manual but The day i laid my hands on some automatic
I knew i wasnt going back

Hahahaha!! You still need the manual driving skills too you know.
Cheers!

I like the driverless Tesla Cars😂🤣

No need for Gears and Acceleration headaches...

😂😂😂Y'all do too much,is that supposed to even be a car?

I will pick a good old Manual car over the Automatic any day, any time (except its during the weekdays in Lagos with the horrendous traffic!)

Oh puhlease 😏 Make no exceptions and stick with your team manual. Leave us, team auto, alone o.

The automatic transmission is a product of advancement in tech yeah? So will you still be riding stick when self driving cars become a thing too?

You see like old wine, manual is class

Try jump starting an automatic

Ha!>>>self driving cars....what about that? @epikcoin
could it be that if your a manual fan, your a control freak..or maybe this l0ove for automtic come from your disstrust in technology..which most of us have in different aspects.

Imagine you had to drive inter-state and your shifting gears every other minute. That would ad to stress don't you think?

Being a car guy I would always choose a manual.

You understand where I am coming from bro!

I love manual drive for when you need to get your car cranked since you can just get the car rolling down a hill and pop the clutch. With that being said, I wore my hands, and forearms out trying to turn sometimes with my previous manual car. Automatic is awesome until they wear out.

If I am driving for convenience I prefer automatic. When I really need to save some money, I lean towards a manual car.

seeing the topic....i already knew you were gonna go with the manula....i only drove manual for a couple months and it wasn't so bad either...in a world that strives for automation....it's only right that automatics take more space.
Maybe there could be another way of even driving?

We love general automation but still like to be in control .. cheers mate

even if it increases your work load?

This post has received a 1.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @epikcoin.