LED headlight bulb

in #cars6 years ago

Was thinking of upgrading the headlights bulb for my car and the thing that comes to my mind is, LED or HID.

A friend of mine was using HID on his car and he own the same car as me, so I've decided to choose LED. The reason is I don't want to have the same kit as my friend in using HID.

My car is equipped with projector headlights so I think LED will be a good pairing with projector headlights and LED don't produce much heat so the headlight casing won't be ruin so easily, LED also lights up instantly and no warm up is needed. Another advantage is LED headlight bulb light up and make a precisely cut off area on where they shine to.

Since my car is using H11 bulb, I order a set of H11 LED 6000k bulb from aliexpress for US$23, the shipping was quite fast. I order it on the 29th last month and it arrived on the 8th this month. Overall experience with the seller is good and a detailed tracking is provided.

IMG_20180209_120507.jpg
This brand that I bought is said to be using Philips chip

IMG_20180209_120521.jpg
Open box, the product manual

IMG_20180209_120527.jpg
The bulb

IMG_20180209_120548.jpg
Comparing the stock halogen with LED bulb

IMG_20180209_121137.jpg
Right bulb fitted

IMG_20180209_121145.jpg
Left bulb fitted

IMG_20180212_011243.jpg
The headlight and clearance light, both running 6000k LED

With the bulb installed, I do feel that the overall vision during night driving is much better than before. There is also less strain on the car electrical system as LED consume less power than halogen.

Sort:  

Nice, looks cool 😎
I have been thinking about trying some LEDs in the headlamps. Have used them in other lamps on the car before but never the main beam.

i have LEDs on the other lights too, this is the first time i'm trying it as headlights. so far i like it as the overall vision is alot better compare to halogen.

Cool I must try some in the RX7, I actually hardly use the headlamps, I only use it in summer, it’s basically light all the time here 😂

this is how it look like

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-10 at 00.41.16.jpeg

Looks cool 😎

LED lights and projectors don't get hot enough when you drive in snow. Snow sticks to the headlight and doesn't melt away. After 2 min on the interstate, the lights are dark. I still prefer a lamp that gets really hot. Get my knowledge based on this website.