My Job and Mixed Feelings That Go With It!

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

Whats going on community?

I'm Lando Perento!
I've worked as an automotive technician for FCA group since 2016. If you are unfamiliar with cars, FCA group consists of several car brands such as Alfa Romeo, Maserati, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, ETC. We range from small fuel efficient cars to monstrous trucks!!

I started working at my dealership as an apprentice to a master tech. My job was to learn, and assist the master tech when needed. Getting paid to learn? Sounds like a deal to me!!! Or at least that is what I was told. You see, during my hiring process there were several hurdles I had to jump through to start working. Sadly, after starting here I had quickly realized that it was NOT my job description to learn, but rather to obey.

My job quickly turned from a dream to a nightmare. I was given all the "shit work" (Oil Changes, Tires, Recalls, and any monotonous work.) I also was forced to do work that I wasn't technically allowed to do, and I had to give away the time I made on this work to people that were "qualified" to do the work.

In the automotive industry, we are paid differently. We don't have salary, some of us are lucky enough to hold on to hourly pay, then there is a system we call flat rate. Flat Rate is a pay system used nation wide (USA). With this system, technicians are paid a certain amount of time regardless of how long it takes them to complete it. Let us use a brake job for example, this pays us 1.5 hours PER AXLE. Now this job is typically one that is easy and we can normally "make" money on, but if you were to take 3 hours to do the brake job, you still only get paid 1.5 hours. This system also ensures that there is no added time on top of what you were already quoted for during a repair. I have seen coworkers bring home $200 paychecks due to no work coming in. We are offered no alternative pay plan, we either make the hours needed, or we starve. As for the last 6 months, people have been starving.

My workday starts with me waking up at 6AM. I usually arrive to work around 7:20-7:30. From here, I work till 5PM. I work 5 days a week, except for when we have to work one six day work week every 3 weeks. The hours are long, the conditions can suck. Although not all is negative with this. The company I work for pays ALL my overtime. No requests or permission required.

On the other hand, the people I work with are constantly helping each other out. We firmly believe in helping each other because we don't want each other struggling for money. We all know the system, we all think its poison. This is why we stand behind others.

I love cars, I love learning how they operate, and how amazing they truly are. But having cars as a hobby and as a job are two different worlds that I wish I had never mixed.

As far as my future in the automotive industry, I am still unsure of whether I want to stay or if I want to pursue my career elsewhere. I'm hoping to receive some advice and clarity through this post!

If anyone wants to discuss cars or needs some help/advice I will be more than happy to speak with you and to give you my best opinion!

Have a blessed day my fellow Steemians!

-LANDOPERENTO

Sort:  

Since I was Child until now the car is is dreaming, I was born at poor family, but I Always pray to God that one day I could buy the car, especially to praise my mom who has grow up me and bless me from child until now. Thanks for sharing.

Sorry I just say what I feel
@maziero681

Never apologize for saying what you feel my man! Having emotions is what makes us human. I too was born into a poor family, but I only had my dad. My "mom" abandoned us when I was 3. God blessed you with a good mother, there are many more blessings to come. Stick with it friend! Hope to see you around

Congratulations @landoperento! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @landoperento!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 8 with 293 upvotes

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, consider to vote for my witness!