DODGESTORATION PT.2!

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

well today was quite eventful! Having a newborn and trying to restore a 74 charger is a task, but we are getting it done one step at a time! hopefully there aren't to many parts in this series!

title.jpg

Today we figured out we have a faulty choke, but we aren't going to worry about it because the long term plan is to throw in a 440 engine with a 4barrel carb and we only have a 2 right now so eh, not gonna worry about it. it runs fantastic when its warm! just takes a second.

step 2 today was to take the seats out and get started on some of the interior!
body.jpg

obviously as you can see we don't have the biggest garage in the world but we are making use of what we have.

We were trying to tackle the dash today and take it out and see what we were working with. inside.jpg
in this picture, the dash is already taken out in the bottom right, but you can see the inside with the seats out, not the most beautiful thing in the world!

now heres where it gets really pretty! finally got the dash off. it took me a while to get it, and after trying to rip one wire that was wrapped around it off and hitting myself in the nose with my pliers, we got it! dash.jpg

look at that freaking mess! there is quite a few things we have to do with the dash to get it working properly and some more wires we need to connect and reconnect, but we started! there is obviously some good rust, but the body and the frame is in good condition.

tay in charger.jpg

heres my helper @tstarnes ! she is out there helping me when the baby is sleeping, and when she is awake she is always looking up stuff on her phone for me on what to do next!

i hope you guys are enjoying this restoration project and let me know what y'all want to see! maybe even a good vote to see what color we should paint it in the end!

joe banner 4.png

Sort:  

I VOTE FACTORY BLUE!

I vote Steemit green! Actually, please don't paint it Steemit green;)

hahaha oh my gosh :P maybe if steemit payed for it hahaha!

I vote Competition Orange, a Hemi, and a footprint gas pedal.

thanks for the vote man! and yeah, i gotta get rid of the rust bucket pedal we got right now!

Welcome to steem! Good luck!

thanks buddy! feel free to stick around to see how the restoration project goes! i hope you enjoy!

Congratulations - You were selected to receive a 100% up-vote from @fivefreeupvotes. Enter once a day
UP-VOTE WINNER.jpg

well. thanks I guess. hope ya actually liked the read :P

Very cool, @procaptainjoe! I'm looking forward to the next installment in this restoration project.

Thanks for joining my Discord Server! I'm following you now!
Cheers!

thanks man! i look foreword to the discord! should be fun! following back, thanks for letting me use the channel!

No problem, @procaptainjoe! I love the classics. I've got a 1965 tropical turquoise Ford Galaxie 500 hardtop that is waiting for a ground up restoration. It is in nearly perfect body condition other than needing new paint and chrome. Used to be my daily driver in the summer, but then I was without a vehicle in the winter because I didn't want to risk wrecking it in the snow and ice. Finally I got a year-round vehicle, and parked the old girl until we can afford to do her justice.
Cheers!

oh yeah for sure man, dont want to take those bad boys out in that salt! sheesh scary stuff! and man thats freaking badass. the body condition is the main part! man i wish this charger was in near perfect body condition. i took a few pictures of the roof the other day and holy cow its bad. hopefully it gets done in a good amount of time!
charger top.JPG

Yowza! That's pretty bad looking. Can't wait to see it when you are finished!
Cheers!

haha yeah bad but thanks for checking it out man!

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED
Build Threads Steemit 569x200.gif
PROMOTING CAR PROJECTS ON STEEMIT