My Holley Sniper EFI Install on 64 Nova Part 1

in #cars6 years ago

I decided to install the Holley Sniper on my car for many reasons. I could not get the holley double pumper to run perfect. I did get the car to run really good, but I always felt the car was running rich at idle. No matter what I did the car would never really shut off nicely. The engine would always diesel or have a slight bit of run on. I was able to get rid of the run by opening the idle screw up a lot and turning down the air fuel screws but it was right. I think the best way for me would be to drill holes in the throttle blades to allow extra air without opening the idle screws up to much and in doing so opening the transition slots a little to much.

I had thought about installing a 02 sensor, wide band gauge for a long time, but if I was going to do that I didn't just want another gauge. I would want a software that had capabilities with data logging. The cost of that would be around $400. So I thought I could install the data logging wide band then spend more money on buying parts for my carb, and probably be around the neighborhood of $1000. So I thought, lets just do this once and do it the best way in my opinion.

First thing I did was to remove my old carb setup
b653c68e-a773-4ded-8b83-fa3dbbbeadac_zps8f6e75c9.jpg

Then I put on the new sniper to see how it would look.
20171101_112811.jpg

Looks pretty good doesn't it.

Next what I did was work on the wiring. I will not include pictures of this because its pretty straight forward and boring.

This is a lot of things that was in the box.
20171002_152230.jpg